Skip to main content

Today's Trending

Reliving West Indies history as they win their 2nd T20 World Cup title in 2016

Reliving West Indies history as they win their 2nd T20 World Cup title in 2016

In this article we will take a look back at the West Indies history in 2016 T20 World cup. Since 2007, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has hosted the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, a Twenty20 International cricket tournament. By 2024, it will have 20 teams.

The competition is traditionally held every two years. The ICC proposed a tournament in 2018, with South Africa as a possible host, in May 2016, but rejected the concept after the end of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. The tournament was originally slated for 2020, however owing to the COVID-19 epidemic, it was postponed until 2021, with India serving as the intended host. Because of the COVID-19 epidemic in India, the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was relocated to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman, taking place 5 years after the last iteration (2016).

More T20 World Cup Information:

Eight editions had been held as of 2022, with a total of 21 teams competing. Only the West Indies and England have won the tournament many times, each with two titles. The inaugural 2007 World Twenty20 was held in South Africa and was won by India, who defeated Pakistan in the final at Johannesburg’s Wanderers Stadium. Pakistan, the previous runner-up, won the event in England in 2009, defeating Sri Lanka in the final at Lord’s.

Reliving West Indies history as they win their 2nd T20 World Cup title in 2016
West Indies

The countries that make up the West Indies cricket squad hosted the third tournament in 2010. England won their first international event after defeating Australia in the final at Kensington Oval in Barbados. The fourth competition, the 2012 World Twenty20, was held in Asia for the first time, with all matches taking place in Sri Lanka. The West Indies won the tournament by defeating Sri Lanka in the final, their first international triumph since the Champions Trophy in 2004. 

Also read: Reminiscing Sri Lanka’s T20 World Cup win in 2014

The fifth tournament, the 2014 ICC World Twenty20, was hosted by Bangladesh and won by Sri Lanka, which defeated India to become the first team to appear in three finals. The West Indies defeated England in the 2016 ICC World Twenty20, which was held by India. 

What went down during the match:

WI captain Darren Sammy won the toss and encouraged England to bat first in the hopes of achieving early inroads. And his bowlers did not disappoint.

Samuel Badree bowled Jason Roy in the first over, while Andre Russel bowled Alex Hales in the second. Before England realised it, they were down to 23/3 after Eoin Morgan fell in the fifth over.

The pair of Joe Root and Joss Buttler sought to offer some steadiness to the innings, scoring 51 runs for the fourth wicket. England’s momentum, however, was lost when Buttler was removed in the 12th over.

Soon later, Root was out, and England finished their innings with 155 runs on the board.

Reliving West Indies history as they win their 2nd T20 World Cup title in 2016
Carlos Brathwaite

The West Indies’ reply suffered from early jolts as well, but Marlon Samuels maintained the innings together from start to finish. Samuels formed an important partnership with Dwayne Bravo (25) before gaining assistance from Carlos Braithwaite in the third over to move the score to 11/3.

Also read: England’s long awaited ICC World T20 victory in 2010

The final over was crucial, with WI needing 19 runs off the final six balls to win their second T20 World Cup. England’s chances of winning the second T20 World Cup lay on Ben Stokes, who bowled the final over.

Stokes started the over with a half-volley on Braithwaite’s leg stump, which he duly deposited in the stands in the backward square leg zone.

To tie the game, the right-hander answered with two more sixes. WI just needed 1 out of 3 instead of 19 out of 6.

Braithwaite, on the other hand, chose a picture-perfect ending, smashing another six over midwicket to secure West Indies their second trophy.


Visit Bjsports to access our Cricket Blogs that are just for you and reminisce about all of your favorite cricket nostalgia moments while being thrilled by our solid cricket blog updates. To ensure you never miss out, join in on the fun right away!


More in Today's Trending

The “No-Ball” Incident – India vs. Pakistan, 2007: A Controversial Moment in T20 World Cup History

Now, Let’s delve into this controversial “No-Ball” Incident...

The Role of Technology in the T20 World Cup: Umpiring Decisions, Data Analytics, and Beyond

The T20 World Cup has been a platform for showcasing the latest technological...

Kolkata Knight Riders Victory in IPL 2014: Golden Victory for the Purple and Gold Warriors!

This article will discuss Kolkata Knight Riders Victory in IPL 2014: Golden...

Inside the Cricket Carnival: Unraveling the Enigma of the Indian Premier League

Welcome to the electrifying world of the Indian Premier League (IPL), where...