Skip to main content

Today's Trending

IPL 2024 Captain List: Indian Premier League Captains and Coaches

IPL 2024, the 17th edition, begins on 22 March. It will run until 7 April 2024. A total of 21 action-packed matches will be played during the initial 2-week session. There will be 10 different cities hosting these matches. BCCI organizes the Indian Premier League (IPL), a franchise T20 cricket league in India.

Based on the BCCI Match schedule, Chennai Super Kings will play the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium on 22 March 2024. At 8 PM IST, the match will begin. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) captain MS Dhoni has resigned to hand over the captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad. This year, MS Dhoni will be joining the franchise.

Here’s the complete list of IPL 2024 team captains and coaches as we prepare for another exciting season:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Captain: Ruturaj Gaikwad

 During the 2024 TATA IPL season, MS Dhoni has passed the baton to Ruturaj Gaikwad. Dhoni was a legendary captain of Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Ruturaj Gaikwad has played 52 matches for CSK since 2020. In total, he has scored 1797 runs with an impressive average of 39.06. At the 2023 Asian Games in Hangzhou, India won the gold medal.

Coach: Stephen Fleming

Delhi Capitals (DC)

Captain: David Warner

Delhi Capitals are also known as Delhi Daredevils. For the 2024 IPL season, David Warner is the team’s leader. Sunrisers Hyderabad won the 2018 IPL under Warner’s leadership. In 2021, DC reached the finals and reached the playoffs under Ricky Ponting.

Coach: Ricky Pointing

IPL 2024 Captain List Indian Premier League Coaches
IPL 2024 Captain List

Gujarat Titans (GT)

Captain: Shubhan Gill

In 2024, Gujarat Titans will have Shubman Gill as captain. GT won their first IPL title under Hardik Pandya’s leadership in 2022. In the IPL, the team hopes to repeat its early success with Ashish Nehra as coach.

Coach: Ashish Nehra

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Captain: Shreyas Iyer

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have appointed Shreyas Iyer as their captain for the 2024 Indian Premier League season. The captaincy changed frequently during this period. Following Iyer’s injury, Nitish Rana became captain for the 2023 season. KKR had previously had Dinesh Karthik, Eoin Morgan, and Shreyas Iyer as captains. This indicated a search for stable leadership.

Coach: Chandrakant Pandit

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Captain: KL Rahul

KL Rahul, is a renowned IPL player. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) captain Rahul continues to be coached by Justin Langer. Rahul guided LSG to the playoffs in their first season in 2022.

Coach: Justin Langer

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Captain: Hardik Pandya

In 2024 IPL season, Mumbai Indians selected Hardik Pandya as their captain. Mark Boucher was appointed coach. The new leadership team replaces Rohit Sharma and Mahela Jayawardene, respectively, under whose guidance MI won five IPL championships.

Coach: Mark Boucher

IPL 2024 captain list
IPL 2024 captain list

Punjab Kings (PK)

Captain: Shikhar Dhawan

Punjab Kings have selected Shikhar Dhawan as their captain for the 2024 IPL season. Trevor Bayliss has been appointed coach. With this new leadership, Mayank Agarwal and coach Anil Kumble hope to rebuild the team.

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Captain: Sanju Samson

A new IPL season begins with the Rajasthan Royals under Sanju Samson’s captaincy and Kumar Sangakkara’s coaching duties. The previous captain was Sanju Samson, while Andrew McDonald was the coach.

Coach: Kumar Sangakkara

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Captain: Faf Du Plessis

RCB will continue with Faf du Plessis as captain and Sanjay Bangar as coach in the 2024 IPL season. Virat Kohli previously led the team under coaches like Daniel Vettori and Simon Katich. While RCB has reached the finals three times (2009, 2011, 2016), they have not won a championship.

Coach: Sanjay Bangar

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Captain: Aiden Markram

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) will participate in the 2024 Indian Premier League with Aiden Markram as captain and Daniel Vettori as coach. In 2016, SRH won their first IPL title under the leadership of Kane Williamson and Trevor Bayliss.

Coach: Daniel Vettori


In IPL 2024, It is an exciting time when the captains and coaches of the teams are announced. These roles are crucial to planning and coaching teams to victory. Together with the captains, the coaches provide leadership qualities and cricketing expertise. Their tactical expertise and mentorship form the backbone of their teams.

To know more, visit BJSports to read our quality cricket blog updates. Explore if you want to reminisce and enjoy your favorite cricket players and nostalgic match moments. To make sure you never miss out, keep updated and join the fun!

More in Today's Trending

The Rise of the IPL: How the Indian Premier League Transformed Cricket

The Indian Premier League (IPL) isn’t just a cricket tournament;...

Cricket’s Iconic Leader: Shahid Afridi’s Legacy in the T20 World Cup

As a passionate cricket fan, my heart swells with admiration when I reflect...

Andre Russell | The Ultimate T20 All-Rounder

Andre Russell is a name synonymous with T20 cricket. Russell has earned a...

From Practice to Perfection: The Art of Fielding Under Pressure in the T20 World Cup

In the fast-paced and high-stakes environment of the T20 World Cup, fielding...