Skip to main content

Exclusive News

Top 3 highest individual scores in U-19 finals history

The under-19 World Cup always excites cricket fans across the globe because they get to see a glimpse of their future stars. Another Under-19 World Cup is approaching its culmination as the final clash is almost set. It is the right time to recall some of the best final heroics as the fans gear up for another mouth-watering ultimate showdown. In this article, we will take a look at the top 3 highest individual scores in the history of the Under-19 World Cup finals. 

111* vs Australia, 2012 – Unmukt Chand

Top 3 highest individual scores in U-19 finals history
Unmukt Chand

Here is a captain’s knock from Unmukt Chand to lead his team to glory in the 2012 Under-19 World Cup final. India faced the hosts Australia in the final which went through its ebbs and flows to finally end in India’s favour. The Indian team was chasing 226 runs in the second innings and they struggled with their start. Australia sent four Indian batters back in the pavilion without allowing the opposition to reach the 100-run mark. But the skipper stitched an unbeaten partnership with Smit Patel to lead his team home. 

108 vs Pakistan, 1988 – Brett Williams

Top 3 highest individual scores in U-19 finals history
Brett Williams

The second-best individual score in an Under-19 World Cup final was achieved in the first-ever edition of the tournament in 1988. The hosts Australia won the tournament and the opener Brett Williams played an instrumental part in that victory with a vital century in the run chase. He was the best batter for his team in the all-important final against Pakistan. Australia chased the target (202) comfortably with 25 balls to spare courtesy of Williams’ contribution with the bat. 

107 vs New Zealand, 1998 – Stephen Peters

Top 3 highest individual scores in U-19 finals history
Stephen Peters

England have won the Under-19 World Cup only once, in 1998. This match-winning knock was played in the 1998 Under-19 World Cup final between England and New Zealand. The English team was chasing a formidable target of 241 runs in the final. Stephen Peters, the opener, led his team in a tricky run chase and got out when the team was on the verge of victory. England eventually won the match and Peters was awarded the player of the match for his outstanding century. 


For more exclusive updates Visit BJSports to access Exclusive News that is only for you, incisive analysis, and updates, and to keep up with all of the latest information on your remarkable cricket favorite players and teams. To ensure you never miss out, join in on the fun right away!

More in Exclusive News

A classic World Cup duel between Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne in Bombay in 1996

Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar, millions of hopes would be pinned on this name for a...

OTD| Lahore Qalandars won their first PSL title in 2022

On this day in 2022, the Pakistan Super League (PSL) got its new champions as...

Reliving Sunrisers Hyderabad’s top 3 victories in IPL history

Sunrisers Hyderabad, once a threatening team, has been reeling in the last few...

Reliving Gujarat Titans’ top 3 victories in IPL history

Gujarat Titans are one of the latest entries into the Indian Premier League but...