Skip to main content

Today's Trending

BPL without DRS, Prize money for champions is BDT 2 crore

ডিআরএস বিহীন বিপিএলে, চ্যাম্পিয়নদের প্রাইজমানি ২ কোটি টাকা

The ninth season of BPL is being played at the beginning of the new year. And compared to the last season, the prize money this season will be doubled. However, there will not be DRS (Decision Review System) at the beginning of this season like in the previous season. However, in BPL without DRS, the prize money has been doubled to Tk 4 crore.

Comilla, the champion team of the last season of BPL, received only Tk 1 crore. The runner-up team Fortune Barisal received Tk 50 lakh. However, both the champion and runner-up teams will get crores of rupees in this tournament. The champion team will get Tk 2 crore double last time and the runner-up team will get Tk 1 crore double last time.

Member Secretary of BPL Governing Council Ismail Haider Mallick gave this information in a press conference of BCB. He said, “There will be several changes in this year’s BPL. The prize money is increasing compared to before, the champion team will get Tk 2 crore. The runner-up will get Tk 1 crore. In this way, the prize money will be around Tk 4 crore. Discussions are going on about some other matters”.

Man of the series Shakib Al Hasan received close to 1 lakh 70 thousand rupees in the last season. However, this prize money will also increase in this event. Ismail Haider Mallik said that this award will be increased by five times, “There is a thought of giving 10 lakh rupees to the man of the series (tournament best player). In addition, we are increasing the prize money by giving a good amount to the best bowler, the best batsman.”

Mallick is hopeful that DRS will not be at the beginning of BPL but will be at the end. He also said, “The issue of having DRS in BPL has been discussed. There will be complete DRS in the eliminator matches and the final. And we are trying to provide an alternate DRS in the rest of the matches”. However, the country’s cricket has also raised questions about why DRS will not be there from the beginning in the BPL.

Mallick claimed that it will not be possible to keep DRS for the entire duration of the tournament due to the busyness of cricket all over the world. He also said, “This time it is being played all over the world. There are two companies available for DRS, Hawk-Eye and Virtual Eye. Virtual Eye usually does it in Australia-New Zealand. Since Hawk Eye is contracted for bilateral series, only in the eliminator matches of BPL. It will remain.”

It should be noted that the ninth season of BPL is taking place on January 6. A total of 7 teams will participate in the tournament. The final will be in February. Bangladesh Cricket Board wants to make BPL controversy-free this time even though there were controversies about BPL in the previous seasons.

More in Cricket Article

BPL 2023 Cricket Free Tips | Dhaka Dominators vs Fortune Barishal: 31st Match

Dhaka Dominators vs Fortune Barishal Match Details Match: Dhaka Dominators vs...

ILT20 2023 Cricket Free Tips | Abu Dhabi Knight Riders vs Dubai Capitals: 22nd Match

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders vs Dubai Capitals Match Details Match: Abu Dhabi Knight...

BPL 2023 Cricket Free Tips | Dhaka Dominators vs Rangpur Riders: 29th Match

Dhaka Dominators vs Rangpur Riders Match Details Match: Dhaka Dominators vs...

BPL 2023 Cricket Free Tips | Khulna Tigers vs Sylhet Strikers: 30th Match 

Khulna Tigers vs Sylhet Strikers Match Details         Match: Khulna...