Skip to main content

Today's Trending

A Year of Surprises and Triumph:  Recapping the Thrilling IPL 2024 Season

বিস্ময় এবং বিজয়ের বছর: ফিরে দেখা রোমাঞ্চকর আইপিএল ২০২৪

The franchise T20 Cricket Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 was the 17th edition of the tournament in India organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Ten teams participated in the tournament, which ran from March 22, 2024, to May 26, 2024, with 74 matchups. Thirteen Indian cities held the event; where Chennai hosted the final and the opening ceremony.

The defending champions were the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who had defeated the Gujarat Titans (GT) in the previous season to win their fifth title. But this year, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won their third IPL championship after defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by eight wickets in the final encounter.


A Year of Surprises and Triumph  Recapping the Thrilling IPL 2024 Season
M A Chidambaram Stadium

The tournament was played at thirteen stadiums across India’s 13 cities. Here is the list of all venues –

1 M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Chennai Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
2 Narendra Modi Stadium Ahmedabad Gujarat Titans (GT)
3 Wankhede Stadium Mumbai Mumbai Indians (MI)
4 BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium Lucknow Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)
5 Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur Rajasthan Royals (RR)
6 ACA Cricket Stadium Guwahati Rajasthan Royals (RR)
7 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)
8 Eden Gardens Kolkata Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
9 HPCA Cricket Stadium Dharamshala Punjab Kings (PBKS)
10 Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Stadium Mullanpur Punjab Kings (PBKS)
11 Arun Jaitley Stadium Delhi Delhi Capitals (DC)
12 ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium Visakhapatnam Delhi Capitals (DC)
13 Rajiv Gandhi Stadium Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)


Group stage & Final

Each of the 10 teams played 14 matches in the group stage. From there, the top 4 teams qualify for the playoffs. The four teams are Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Rajasthan Royals (RR), and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) respectively. At the end of the group stage, the top two teams in the points table, KKR and SRH, met in Qualifier 1. On the other hand, RR and RCB face each other in the eliminator match.

Here is the end of the group stage points table –

1 KKR (C) 14 9 3 2 1.428 20
2 SRH (R) 14 8 5 1 0.414 17
3 RR (3rd) 14 8 5 1 0.273 17
4 RCB (4th) 14 7 7 0 0.459 14
5 CSK 14 7 7 0 0.392 14
6 DC 14 7 7 0 -0.377 14
7 LSG 14 7 7 0 -0.667 14
8 GT 14 5 7 2 -1.063 12
9 PBKS 14 5 9 0 -0.353 10
10 MI 14 4 10 0 -0.318 8


KKR secured the final directly by winning Qualifier 1. On the other hand, RCB got knocked out of the tournament after losing the eliminator match. As a result, RR, the winner of the eliminator in Qualifier 2, faced SRH, who lost in Qualifier 1. This time it was SRH who won and they faced KKR in the final. But luck is very helpless. As a result, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerged victorious and claimed the title.

Awards & Prize Money

Living legend Virat Kohli (RCB) was selected as the highest run scorer (Orange Cap holder) of the tournament. In 15 innings, he scored 741 runs at an average of 61.75. Where his strike rate was 154.69. A century and five half-centuries were also collected by Kohli.

On the other hand, Harshal Patel (PBKS) was selected as the highest wicket-taker (Purple Cap Holder) of the tournament. He took 24 wickets in 14 innings at an average of 19.87. Where his economy rate was 9.73. Besides, Hershal’s best bowling figure was 3/15.

Sunil Narine was adjudged the Most Valuable Player of the season and became the first cricketer to win the award for the third time in the tournament.

A Year of Surprises and Triumph  Recapping the Thrilling IPL 2024 Season
Runner up Award and Prize Sunrisers Hyderabad

Let’s look at the IPL 2024 team and individual award winners. Let’s keep an eye on the list of who got the prize money –

1 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Champion Team 20 core ₹ & Trophy
2 Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Runners up Team 12.5 ₹ core & Monument
3 Virat Kohli (RCB) Orange Cap (most runs) 10 ₹ lakh & Monument
4 Harshal Patel (PBKS) Purple Cap (most wickets) 10 ₹ lakh & Monument
5 Sunil Narine Most Valuable Player 10 ₹ lakh & Trophy
6 Abhishek Sharma Most sixes 10 ₹ lakh & Trophy
7 Travis Head Most fours 10 ₹ lakh & Trophy
8 Ramandeep Singh Catch of the tournament 10 ₹ lakh & Trophy
9 Sunil Narine Ultimate Fantasy player 10 ₹ lakh & Trophy
10 Nitish Kumar Reddy Emerging player 10 ₹ lakh
11 Pat Cummins Team fairplay award 10 ₹ lakh
12 Jake Fraser-McGurk Electric Striker 10 ₹ lakh, Trophy & a car


IPL 2025 Auction and Tournament Start Time

A Year of Surprises and Triumph  Recapping the Thrilling IPL 2024 Season
IPL 2025 Auction and Time

In 2025, the Indian Premier League (IPL) will be held as a mega auction. The remaining players will return to the auction pool once each team is granted a set number of retention options. As a result, the IPL 2025 Mega Auction Date may fall between December 2024 and February 2025. Because the IPL is normally held in the Indian summer, it might begin in late March 2025 and go until the end of May, as it did this year.


Visit Bjsports to access our Cricket Blogs that are just for you and reminisce about all of your favorite cricket nostalgia moments while being thrilled by our solid cricket blog updates. To ensure you never miss out, join in on the fun right away!

More in Today's Trending

The Greatest T20 World Cup Performances by Cricket Legends

The T20 World Cup, a carnival of cricketing excellence, has seen numerous...

From Stadiums to Stock Markets: Understanding the Economic Contributions of the Indian Premier League to India

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has become more than just a cricket tournament...

The Record-Breaking Fastest Fifty Performances in IPL History

In this article, we will discuss the Record-Breaking Fastest Fifty Performances...

How the Lanka Premier League is Shaping the Future of Sri Lankan Cricket: A Detailed Analysis

Sri Lankan cricket is rapidly evolving and the Lanka Premier League (LPL) has...