Skip to main content

Latest News

Why are Richard Gleeson and Wriddhiman Saha not playing IPL 2024 Match 59 between GT vs CSK?

Wridhimman Saha (Photo Source : BCCI/IPL)

Chennai Super Kings took on Gujarat Titans in Match 59 of the Indian Premier League 2024 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 10, Friday. CSK won the toss and opted to bowl first. Ruturaj Gaikwad announced one change in the playing XI as Kiwi youngster Rachin Ravindra was brought in for pacer Richard Gleeson. The move came in the light of solidifying the batting lineup during the chase. 

On the other hand, Gujarat Titans named two changes as wicketkeeper-batter Wriddhiman Saha missed due to a niggle with Matthew Wade replacing him while Joshua Little made way for Kartik Tyagi. It was a surprising move from GT as Little was instrumental in Royal Challengers Bengaluru’s collapse in the low-scoring game. 

“We will bowl first. Looks a good wicket to be honest. It’s been a chasing ground, so we will look to chase. Pretty much similar to Chennai. We didn’t like the red soil wicket much. Pretty relaxed. You tend to lose many games in IPL, you got to back everyone and make sure everyone is in a good head space. We had injuries in between, but happy now. Rachin Ravindra comes in for Gleeson,” said Gaikwad at the toss.

Also Read: ‘We are actually looking for someone to go out with him’ – Stephen Fleming addresses Ruturaj Gaikwad’s iron leg at toss

“Would have bowled first as well, looks a good wicket. There’s 1 percent chance of qualifying, so we are going to try hard for that. The mood is like any other match, we as a team believe in doing the best we can. Will be a good surface to bat on. Will score runs and try to restrict them. Wade comes in for Saha who has a niggle. In order to get the team combination right, Kartik Tyagi makes his debut, he comes in for Joshua Little,” said Gill at the toss.

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad(c), Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni(w), Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Simarjeet Singh

Chennai Super Kings Impact Subs: Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Aravelly Avanish, Sameer Rizvi, Mukesh Choudhary


Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Shubman Gill(c), Sai Sudharsan, Shahrukh Khan, David Miller, Matthew Wade(w), Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmad, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Kartik Tyagi

Gujarat Titans Impact Subs: Abhinav Manohar, Sandeep Warrier, BR Sharath, Darshan Nalkande, Jayant Yadav

More in Latest News