Skip to main content

Latest News

Why are Glenn Maxwell and Kagiso Rabada not playing IPL 2024 Match 58 between PBKS vs RCB?

Glenn Maxwell and Kagiso Rabada. (Source -Twitter/X)

Punjab Kings took on Royal Challengers Bengaluru in Match 58 of the Indian Premier League at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala on May 9. PBKS won the toss and opted to field first. Punjab made a slight change to their playing XI by resting their star pacer Kagiso Rabada. They did so by drafting Liam Livingstone in place of the South Africa pacer to bolster their batting lineup.

On the other hand, RCB too entered the fray with a major change from the last game. They benched the big show, Glenn Maxwell. As a result, they went to the Kiwi pacer Lockie Ferguson to add more depth to their bowling arsenal. It is worth noting that Maxwell had earlier hinted at not being in a good frame of mind. He had opted out of a few games and made a return in RCB’s last two games.

Also Check: IPL 2024 Points Table

“Going to bowl. Looks like they’ve watered the wicket a bit, might be something early on. Looking to put RCB under pressure early. With the side we’ve picked today, looking to take wickets with the new ball. Pretty simple for us now – need few results to go for us and win our remaining games. Livingstone comes in for Rabada. Our strength is our batting,” said Sam Curran at the toss.

“Would’ve done the same. Been a great turnaround for us. Last few games we’ve been clinical. Focus remains the same, not too much on the table, just the way we want to play. Maxwell out for Lockie Ferguson” said Faf du Plessis at the toss. 

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Jonny Bairstow(w), Prabhsimran Singh, Rilee Rossouw, Shashank Singh, Sam Curran(c), Liam Livingstone, Ashutosh Sharma, Harshal Patel, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Vidhwath Kaverappa.

Punjab Kings Impact Subs: Harpreet Brar, Tanay Thyagarajan, Rishi Dhawan, Jitesh Sharma, Nathan Ellis

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Will Jacks, Rajat Patidar, Mahipal Lomror, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik(w), Swapnil Singh, Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson

Also Check: IPL 2024 Orange Cap – Most Runs

Royal Challengers Bengaluru Impact Subs: Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Yash Dayal, Mayank Dagar

More in Latest News

‘We must have six to eight retentions’ – Harsha Bhogle agrees with Venky Mysore’s opinion on IPL retention

Harsha Bhogle and Venky Mysore. (Source – Twitter/X) The 17th edition of...

May 29: Cricket Social Media Trends – Trending tweets, memes, news highlights, and more

Hardik Pandya. (Photo Source: X(Twitter) Today on social media, several...

Pakistan’s 2009 T20 World Cup Winners: Where are they now?

Pakistan (Champions T20 World Cup 2009). (Source – Twitter/X) In 2009,...