Skip to main content

Latest News

Under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy we will win Champions Trophy and WTC Final: Jay Shah

Under Rohit Sharma's captaincy we will win Champions Trophy and WTC Final Jay Shah

Jay Shah and Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: X/Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah has announced that Rohit Sharma will lead the Men in Blue in next year’s ICC Champions Trophy and the World Test Championship (WTC) final (if India make it).

Under Rohit’s inspirational leadership, India lifted the T20 World Cup 2024 title after beating South Africa in the finals on June 29. The Mumbai batter impressed fans and experts with his tactical acumen throughout the campaign as the Men in Blue managed to win an ICC event after 11 years. After winning the marquee event, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, and Rohit announced their retirements from T20Is. However, they will continue playing for the national team in the two other formats.

Now, Shah has announced that Rohit will continue leading the side in the other two formats until the culmination of the ongoing World Test Championship (WTC) cycle and the ICC Champions Trophy. Both these events will come to a head in 2025.

“I am confident that under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, we will win the WTC Final and the Champions Trophy,” Shah said in a video which has rapidly gone viral on social media.

Watch Jay Shah’s statement on Rohit Sharma here:

India are currently placed at the top of the WTC points table for the 2023-2025 cycle. They have won six out of nine Tests in this cycle and lost only a couple. Meanwhile, one Test was drawn. India played the finals of the first two editions of WTC and lost to New Zealand and Australia, respectively. Rohit would want to take his team the distance this time.

Also Read: Jay Shah’s reaction after meeting Virat Kohli at Wankhede grabs attention

India are currently playing a five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. The first match has already been lost by the Men in Blue, as Zimbabwe defeated the tourists by 13 runs at the Harare Sports Club on Saturday, July 06.

Also Read: Jay Shah presents INR 125 crore cheque to World Cup-winning Team India at Wankhede Stadium

The senior players have been rested for this tour as several youngsters who did well during the Indian Premier League (IPL) have got the opportunities to showcase their skills. The senior stars could return for the ODI leg of the Sri Lanka tour.

More in Latest News

18-member India A Women squad announced for multi-format tour against Australia A Women

Team India Women. (Source – BCCI) India A Women will be travelling to...

ZIM vs IND 2024: Zimbabwe vs India, 5th T20I – Who Said What?

Sanju Samson and Riyan Parag. (Source – BCCI) India took on Zimbabwe in...

ZIM vs IND 2024: Top 10 Funniest Memes from 5th T20I

India vs Zimbabwe. (Source – BCCI) Team India (IND) took on Zimbabwe...

Former Pakistan allrounder Billy Ibadulla passes away at age of 88

Billy Ibadulla. (Source – Twitter/X) Former Pakistan all-rounder, Billy...