Skip to main content

Latest News

T20 World Cup 2024: Prominent players omitted as Netherlands unveil squad for mega event

T20 World Cup 2024: Prominent players omitted as Netherlands unveil squad for mega event

Scott-Edwards-and-Logan-van-Beek. (Photo by DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP via Getty Images)

Netherlands have unveiled their squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, and it’s marked by both experience and youth. The seasoned campaigners Roelof van der Merwe and Colin Ackermann have been left out, making way for emerging talents like left-arm spinner Tim Pringle, seamer Kyle Klein, and explosive opener Michael Levitt. Levitt’s scintillating century against Namibia earlier this year, where he smashed 135 runs off just 62 balls, earned him a deserved spot in the squad.

Scott Edwards will continue to lead the team as a wicketkeeper-batter, with Bas de Leede standing out as another vital player in the lineup. The Dutch team, set to face South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Nepal in the group stages, aim to make a mark at the tournament.

Their campaign kicks off on June 4 against Nepal at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas. Coach Ryan Cook expressed confidence in the squad’s balance, emphasizing their readiness to tackle the challenges posed by the opposition and conditions in the US and the West Indies.

He highlighted the players’ impressive performances in recent ProSeries matches, underscoring the growing depth and quality of cricket in the Netherlands. With notable achievements in the past two World Cups, the team is determined to advance further in the upcoming tournament.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Liam Livingstone leaves Punjab Kings to focus on knee rehab before T20 World Cup

The Netherlands squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 boasts a diverse range of talent and experience. Led by Scott Edwards, who serves as both captain and wicketkeeper, the team features promising young players like Aryan Dutt and Kyle Klein, alongside seasoned campaigners such as Bas de Leede and Paul van Meekeren. With Max O’Dowd providing stability at the top of the order and Michael Levitt adding firepower as an explosive opener, the batting lineup appears well-rounded.

Netherlands boast of mix of experience and youth which can challenge teams

The bowling attack is bolstered by the likes of Fred Klaassen and Logan van Beek, who bring pace and accuracy, while Daniel Doram and Tim Pringle provide spin options. Sybrand Engelbrecht and Teja Nidamanuru offer versatility with both bat and ball, adding depth to the squad. Viv Kingma’s pace bowling and Wesley Barresi’s experience further strengthen the team’s prospects. Overall, Netherlands squad presents a formidable challenge to their opponents, with a blend of youth and experience poised to make an impact in the tournament.

Netherlands squad: Scott Edwards (c, wk), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Daniel Doram, Fred Klaassen, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, ⁠⁠Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh, Viv Kingma, Wesley Barresi.

Until May 25, all teams have the chance to adjust their squads. Any modifications made after this date will need authorization from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

More in Latest News

‘Garden mein ghoomega toh’ – Suryakumar Yadav hilariously comments on Yashasvi Jaiswal’s post

Yashasvi Jaiswal. (Source -Rajasthan Royals) Star India opener Yashasvi Jaiswal...

May 29 Evening Brief: Today’s top news and headlines from the cricketing world

Indian Cricket Team. (Photo Source: X(Twitter) 1. Netherlands upset Sri Lanka...

IPL 2024: 5 deserving players who did not get a single game

Glenn Phillips and Yash Dhull. (Source – Twitter/X) The IPL 2024 saw a...

Former cricketers predict their T20 World Cup 2024 finalists

T20 World cup ( Photo source : Getty Images ) In the lead-up to the T20 World...