Skip to main content

Latest News

PCB grants BBL NOCs to Haris Rauf, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan

PCB grants BBL NOCs to Haris Rauf, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan

Haris Rauf in Melbourne stars. (Photo Source: Mike Owen/Getty Images)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has granted No-Objection Certificates (NOCs) to Pakistani bowlers Haris Rauf, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan to play in the upcoming edition of the Big Bash League (BBL), which commences on Thursday, December 7.

According to the NOCs provided, the three players will be able to play the BBL until December 28, a schedule the board said had been agreed considering “the workload of players and the future tours programme of the national men’s team.”

The Pakistan team is currently in Australia to play a three-match Test series. Rauf, who has primarily been considered as a white-ball specialist, was initially in contention to be picked in the Test squad for the series Down Under. However, he decided to opt out of selection and it led to PCB officials openly criticising his stance. P

Pakistan’s new chief selector Wahab Riaz also slammed Rauf for his decision, alleging that the right-arm pacer had taken a U-turn after initially agreeing to play the highly-anticipated series.

“The PCB understands that this decision is in the best interests of all the stakeholders involved while balancing the importance of game time with workload management,” Pakistan’s cricket governing board said.

Rauf and leg-spinner Mir are scheduled to play for Melbourne Stars. They will be able to play a maximum of five games for the team. Pacer Zaman, on the other hand, would be able to appear in four games for the Sydney Thunder.

Olly Stone in line to replace Haris Rauf

England pacer Olly Stone is currently training with the Stars and he could be drafted into the side after Rauf’s departure. It is interesting to note that Peter Moores, the new head coach of Melbourne, is also the coach of Stone’s English County team Nottinghamshire.

The Stars will feature in the opening match of BBL 2023-2024, on Thursday, December 7, at The Gabba, as they take on Brisbane Heat. Meanwhile, Sydney Thunder will begin their campaign in the eight-team league on Tuesday, December 12, in Canberra against the Heat.


To catch up on the most current news on all of your favorite thrilling cricket updates, visit BJSports to access our comprehensive Latest News, insightful analysis, and updates. connect with the action now to make sure you never miss out!

More in Latest News

WPL 2024: GG, RCB name Sayali Sathgare, Shraddha Pokarkar as replacements

Gujarat Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore name Sayali Sathgare and...

Cricket Buzz: Social media trends on February 19

The social media was once again buzzing with updates from the cricketing...

Naseem Shah showers praise on ‘humble’ Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is one of the most revered cricketers in the sport and serves as an...