Skip to main content

Latest News

New Zealand announce squad for ODI series against Pakistan

New Zealand announce squad for ODI series against Pakistan

New Zealand Team. (Photo by DAVID ROWLAND/AFP via Getty Images)

Ahead of their trip to Pakistan, the Black Caps have announced their 15-member ODI squad for the forthcoming series. Notably, in the absence of many regular starters, currently involved in the 16th edition of the Indian Premier League, Tom Latham will be seen leading the team, while two potential debutants in the form of Ben Lister and Cole McConchie have been called up.

Meanwhile, ahead of the tour, Kiwi head coach Gary Stead stated that the series against Pakistan will be a tough one. He also mentioned that the players have learned a lot from their last tour to Pakistan, and having more ODI match experience is fantastic in a World Cup year.

“We’ve enjoyed a number of exciting matches against Pakistan across both white ball formats in the last season home and way. They are a tough team, no matter where you take them on.

“The successful ODI series earlier this year in Pakistan provided big learning opportunities for the players, and having more ODI match experience is fantastic in a World Cup year,” the 51-year-old was quoted as saying by ICC.

Interestingly, even though players like Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Glenn Phillips, Lockie Ferguson, Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell and Mitchell Santner were not available for the majority part of the series, New Zealand faced no hurdles in defeating Sri Lanka 2-0 in the ODI series.

However, the home side suffered a defeat in the first T20I as the Dasun Shanka-led side won the match in a super over. Notably, the second and third T20I of the series will be played on April 5 and April 8, respectively.

The Pakistan series, meanwhile, will begin on April 14 in Lahore. After the completion of the five-match T20I series, the ODI series will begin on April 26.

New Zealand ODI squad: Tom Latham (c), Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young

More in Latest News

IPL 2024: Lucknow Super Giants vs Delhi Capitals, 26th Match – Who Said What?

LSG vs DC. (Source -IPL/BCCI) The Lucknow Super Giants posted a commendable...

3 Changes Lucknow Super Giants should make to get back to winning ways

LSG vs DC. (Source -IPL/BCCI) Delhi Capitals (DC) staged a comeback, outplaying...

IPL 2024: Delhi Capitals’ 2nd innings highlights against LSG in Match 26

Delhi Capitals. (Source -IPL/2024) A quickfire start by the openers of the...

MI vs CSK, IPL 2024, Match 29: Stats Preview of Players’ Records and Approaching Milestones

IPL 2024: Match 29, MI vs CSK Stats Preview (Source -IPL/BCCI) Mumbai Indians...