Skip to main content

Latest News

IPL: 3 bowlers with most 155kph+ balls in league history

Mayank Yadav. (Source -IPL/BCCI)

Over the years, we have witnessed ruthless batting displays from players across the globe and even fans crave such action. However, there are some bowlers who manage to steal the show with their fearsome bowling spells. They trouble the batters with pace, swing, accuracy and spin magic and prove that not only the sight of dispatching the ball into the stands but also rattling the stumps is beautiful.

The IPL has witnessed many fast bowlers putting up a show with their intimidating bowling action and thunderous pace. Some of them have managed to breach the 150kmph mark repeatedly in the 17-year history of the tournament. The record for the fastest delivery in IPL is being held by former Rajasthan Royals speedster Shaun Tait – 157.7 kmph.

The Australian achieved this massive feat in 2011 but to date, no one has been able to break it. However, bowlers like Lockie Ferguson and Umran Malik have come close to this record in previous seasons. A new pace sensation in the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) camp, Mayank Yadav, is a new addition to this list. The uncapped Indian player currently holds the record for the fourth fastest delivery as he clocked 156.7 kmph in the match against RCB.

Also Check: IPL 2024 Purple Cap

Here are the three bowlers with the most number of 155kph+ balls in IPL history:

3. Anrich Nortje (2)

Anrich Nortje Delhi Capitals. (Photo Source: NOAH SEELAM/AFP via Getty Images)

Only five bowlers in the league’s history have managed to cross the 155 kmph barrier, with Anrich Nortje doing it twice. The South African pace spearhead is the only overseas bowler to cross this mark twice in the competition. In the 2020 season, the Delhi Capitals (DC) pacer clocked speeds of 156.2 kmph and 155.1 kmph.

Nortje’s 156.2 kmph delivery against Rajasthan Royals was recorded as the fastest ball in IPL since 2012. The right-arm seamer finished the tournament as the fourth-highest wicket-taker with 22 scalps from 16 matches. Notably, the 2020 season was also DC’s first appearance in the IPL finals. 

2. Umran Malik (2)

Umran Malik (Photo Source -Twitter/X)

Umran Malik is the first Indian bowler to clock speeds of 155 kmph in IPL and crossing the 150 kmph mark is a cakewalk for him. Playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2022, the right-arm pacer bowled a 156. 9 kmph ripper to Delhi Capitals’s Rovman Powell. This is recorded as the fastest ball by an Indian in IPL history.

Throughout that season he repeatedly hit 154kmph+ and once again broke the 155 mark. The Jammu and Kashmir talent enjoyed his best IPL season, finishing as the fourth leading wicket-taker with a total of 22 scalps from 14 matches.

Also Read: Purple Cap in IPL 2024- Most Wickets

1. Mayank Yadav (3)

Mayank Yadav. (Source -IPL/BCCI)

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) have already delivered a find of the season in the 17th edition of the cash-rich league. Mayank Yadav has played just two matches so far this season and it has been enough for the Delhi player to catch the eye of the world. Having bagged back-to-back fifers, Yadav was adjudged Player of the Matches in those two matches.

The 21-year-old stunned the cricketing fraternity with his lightning-quick pace. He set a massive record by becoming the first player in IPL history to bowl three or more 155km+ deliveries. Yadav has breached this tough mark thrice this year, with his top speed reaching 156.7 kmph – the third-fastest delivery in the competition.

His fiery bowling left Glenn Maxwell and Cameron Green bamboozled in the match between RCB and LSG. The youngster has gained attention from fans and former cricketers across the world and already some are tipping him for a place in India’s 2024 T20 World Cup squad.

Also Check: What is Mayank Yadav’s salary in IPL 2024?

More in Latest News

IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings’ 1st Innings Highlights against LSG in Match 39

Ruturaj Gaikwad. (Source -IPL/BCCI) At the M.A Chidambaram stadium, Chennai...

Reports: Team India may not travel to Pakistan for the Champions Trophy 2025

Team India. (Photo Source: PHILL MAGAKOE/AFP via Getty Images) Mohsin Naqvi,...

Teams will need anchors in slow pitches of T20 World Cup: David Warner

David Warner in Delhi Capital ( Photo source : X / Twitter ) As the T20 World...

Australia’s probable 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Australia. (Photo by BIJU BORO/AFP via Getty Images) The excitement for the...