Skip to main content

Latest News

AUS-W vs SA-W: Umpire makes hilarious error before quick correction, leaves players in splits

AUS-W vs SA-W: Umpire makes hilarious error before quick correction, leaves players in splits

Wrong Decision. (Photo Source: X(Twitter)

South Africa are currently in Australia, playing a multi-format series against Alyssa Healy and Co. After the T20I series was won by the Aussies by a 2-1 margin, they registered a comfortable win in the first ODI, chasing down a paltry target of 106, with eight wickets and 31 overs to spare.

On Wednesday, February 7, the two teams are playing the second ODI at the North Sydney Oval. Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first. An interesting incident took place in the 24th over of South Africa’s innings. Sune Luus tried to execute a sweep shot off the final ball of Ashleigh Gardner’s over. However, the ball slipped under her bat and thudded into her front pad.

The Aussies went up in appeal but umpire Claire Polosak remained unmoved. The fielding side decided to review the call. Ball-tracking suggested Luus had been struck outside the line of the off-stump. The TV umpire asked Claire to stay with her original decision of not out. The latter heard the instruction but instead of signalling not out, she raised her finger, much to the amazement of the Australian fielders.

However, she was quick to realise her mistake and she immediately signalled not out, while sporting a cheeky smile. The Australian players were left in splits as well. Luus was eventually dismissed for 19 off 33 balls, as she was caught by Annabel Sutherland off the bowling of Gardner. The Proteas slipped to 117/4 in 25.2 overs after Luus’ dismissal.

 

— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) February 7, 2024

Australia Women tightening screws over South Africa Women after fiery start in second ODI

Speaking of how the second ODI of the series panned out so far, the tourists had already lost the wickets of Laura Wolvaardt, Tazmin Brits, and Anneke Bosch inside the first 16 overs. Notably, the South African skipper too was dismissed in the first over for a duck. Brits struggled to rotate strike during her innings of 21 off 41 balls and was eventually sent packing by Sutherland.

Meanwhile, Anneke Bosch looked good during her 44-run knock off 46 balls, as she hit nine fours and one six, respectively. However, she fell to Gardner in the 16th over, caught by Sutherland.

More in Latest News

WPL 2024: GG, RCB name Sayali Sathgare, Shraddha Pokarkar as replacements

Gujarat Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore name Sayali Sathgare and...

Cricket Buzz: Social media trends on February 19

The social media was once again buzzing with updates from the cricketing...

Naseem Shah showers praise on ‘humble’ Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is one of the most revered cricketers in the sport and serves as an...