Skip to main content

Exclusive News

3 records broken by Pathum Nissanka during his double century against Afghanistan

Pathum Nissanka during his double century against Afghanistan

The 25-year-old Sri Lankan Pathum Nissanka made the headlines with a record-breaking double century against Afghanistan in the first match of the ODI series at Pallekele. It was a knock of the highest order which has made Nissanka’s name immortal in the history of ODI cricket. In this article, we will look at 3 records broken by the Sri Lankan during his double century. 

At the top of the ladder

Pathum Nissanka has scored the highest individual ODI score for a Sri Lankan. No Sri Lankan has ever scored a double century in the history of ODI cricket which makes Nissanka’s effort extraordinary. The talented opener broke the record of Sri Lankan legend Sanath Jayasuriya who had the highest individual score (189) for a Sri Lankan in ODI cricket. Jayasuriya played this knock against India. 

50th ODI innings – A memorable feat

Pathum Nissanka was playing his 50th ODI in his international career and the opener made that achievement a lot more memorable by playing this knock. He became the first player to score more than 150 runs in his 50th ODI innings. Andy Balbirnie held this record as he played an unbeaten 145-run knock in his 50th ODI innings. An equal number of runs were scored by former Australian captain Ricky Pointing in his 50th ODI innings but now Pathum Nissanka has surpassed these records in a style. 

The third-fastest ODI double-century

The Sri Lankan opener did not just play a long innings but he played in a destructive fashion. Nissanka overtook the likes of Chris Gayle and Virender Sehwag who took 138 and 140 balls respectively to achieve this milestone. The promising Sri Lankan completed his double century in just 136 deliveries and he attacked every opposition bowler to smash them around the park. Courtesy of his knock Sri Lanka posted a gigantic total of 381 runs on the board in the first innings. 

More in Exclusive News

Reliving Rajasthan Royals’ top 3 victories in IPL history

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural season of IPL under the inspiring leadership...

OTD| Australia won their sixth Women’s T20 World Cup title in 2023

The Australians have been an unbeatable force in women’s cricket and no other...

OTD| Former England wicketkeeper-batter Matt Prior was born in 1982

Former English wicketkeeper-batter, Matthew Prior, has turned 42 today. Prior...

3 key Head-to-Head battles to look forward to in IPL 2024

The excitement has started to build up in the run-up to the upcoming IPL...