Skip to main content

Sunrisers Eastern Cap wins the SA20 title

এসএটি২০ এর শিরোপা জিতল সানরাইজার্স ইস্টার্ন ক্যাপ

After lasting for almost a month, the franchise-based Twenty20 League (SA20) in South Africa has finally come down. Sunrisers won the Eastern Cap title in this tournament which was held for the first time. However, the final match of SA20 was a low-scoring match. Which was totally unexpected to the audience. In this hype era of T20, what the audience always wants in any T20 league final is a flurry of fours and sixes by two teams.

Pretoria Capitals and Sunrisers face off in the final of the SA20 on Sunday night at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. Sunrisers captain Aiden Markram won the toss and sent Pretoria to bat first. The team’s bowler Van der Merwe proved the captain’s decision correct. Taking 4 wickets, he booked Pretoria within 135 runs.

Chasing a modest target of 136 runs, Sunrisers got off to a good start. Opener Temba Bavuma returned quickly, but Adam Rossington scored a half-century at the other end. Rossington paved the way for Sunrisers’ victory by forming small pairs with the middle-order batsmen. In the end, Sunrisers tasted the title, winning by 4 wickets. Although Merwi was the man of the match.

Merwi is very happy to see the team win the title. Expressing his feelings after the match, he said, “Unbelievable day. Different feeling. All the boys are very happy. I tried to contribute to the team. I played well accordingly. I am really overwhelmed to bowl like that. It feels unbelievable. Everyone’s collective support is the cornerstone of our victory.”

It is to be noted that the Sunrisers did not do very well at the beginning of the tournament. From there, Markram’s team returned home with the title. However, the Sunrisers captain gave credit to the team players for this incredible achievement. Markram believes that some players have performed well in difficult times and it made it possible for them to win the tournament.

More in Cricket Article

Twitter Reactions: Glenn Phillips shines on Day 3, BAN-NZ 2nd Test headed for intriguing finish

Glenn Phillips. (Photo Source: X(Twitter) 15 wickets fell on Day 1 of the...

Reliving West Indies history as they win their 2nd T20 World Cup title in 2016

In this article we will take a look back at the West Indies history in 2016 T20...

Twitter Reactions: Sikandar Raza turns hero again as Zimbabwe edge past Ireland in thrilling T20I showdown

IRE vs ZIM Sikandar Raza’s brilliance with both bat and bowl sealed...

T20 World Cup Winners Recap: Reminiscing Sri Lanka’s T20 World Cup win in 2014

Sri Lanka’s T20 World Cup win in 2014 relived the moments nine years ago...