Skip to main content

Today's Trending

Stokes is the captain of the ICC Test team this year

আইসিসি বর্ষসেরা টেস্ট দলের অধিনায়ক স্টোকস

The year 2022 has ended, it has been almost a month. Although the New Year’s cricketing frenzy has begun, the reckoning of the old year is not yet over. Among them, the highest governing body of cricket, ICC, has selected the best test team of 2022. Where most cricketers got opportunities from Australia and England. And Ben Stokes is in charge of leading that team.

This year’s ICC Test team of the year has a maximum of 4 cricketers from Australia. 3 cricketers got the second highest opportunity from England. The remaining four players in the Team of the Year are – India, Pakistan, West Indies and South Africa. No cricketer from teams like New Zealand, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan made it to the team of the year.

The last year has been a dream for Stokes, who was given the opportunity to captain the team of the year. The English captain has changed the style of the game by teaming up with Test coach Brendon McCullum. Stokes brought a total of 9 victories in 2022 with exceptional and courageous leadership. Besides, this all-rounder has taken 870 runs at an average of 36.25 with the bat and 26 wickets with the ball.

Last year, Australia turned the baton in Test cricket. Two of the cricketers who contributed to Ajid’s success were Usman Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne. The two top order batsmen who are in great rhythm with the bat are the best in the eyes of the ICC. Khawaja has been placed in the opening along with West Indies’ Craig Brathwaite. On the other hand, Labushan got a chance at number three.

Babar Azam has always been successful in 2022. The Pakistan captain is number four in the team of the year. Number five is English wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow. However, he could not play at the end of the year due to injury. However, Bairstow shone with the bat before getting injured. Despite Bairstow, India’s Rishabh Pant has been named Team Wicketkeeper of the Year.

ICC Test Team of the Year:

Ben Stokes (captain), Usman Khawaja, Craig Brathwaite, Marnus Labuschagne, Babar Azam, Jonny Bairstow, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon and Jessam Anderson.

More in Cricket Article

WPL 2023 Winner Prize Money, Complete List of Award-Winners, Top Records & Stats – All You Need To Know

Mumbai Indians (Winners). (Photo Source: WPL/Twitter) The inaugural edition of...

WPL 2023, Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians, Final – Talking Points and Who Said What?

Issy Wong. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL) After a stunning performance with the...

Twitter Reactions: Mumbai Indians edge past Delhi Capitals to clinch inaugural WPL title

Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL) After entertaining the fans with...

New Zealand name squads for Sri Lanka and Pakistan T20Is, Tom Latham to lead

Tom Latham (Photo Source: Twitter) Tom Latham has made his return to the T20I...