Skip to main content

Today's Trending

Bangladesh’s Swarna in the best XI of the World Cup

বিশ্বকাপের সেরা একাদশে বাংলাদেশের স্বর্না

The ICC U-19 T20 World Cup has been held with women for the first time. India has won the World Cup title in South Africa. Indian girls beat England in the final. At the end of the tournament, it’s time for the reckoning. Meanwhile, ICC has also released the best XI of the World Cup. And Swarna Akhtar got a place as the only Bangladeshi in that eleven.

Swarna has batted in the middle order in this World Cup. Where she has become a saviour for Bangladesh, her contribution in the win against Australia was 23 not out. Played innings of fifty runs off 28 balls against Sri Lanka. Besides, Swarna played 22 innings against the USA, 20 against South Africa and 38 runs against the United Arab Emirates.

Due to such a performance with the bat, Swarna has got a place in the best XI of the World Cup. However, he could not lead his team to the desired goal. Bangladesh got off to a flying start by defeating superpowers like Australia in this World Cup. Keeping that rhythm, the Tigers entered the round of six as group champions. But in the end, their dream was shattered there by fate.

Despite not reaching the semi-finals, the girls of Bangladesh have won praise. Apart from Swarna, many cricketers have spread light with bat and ball. Among them, Afia Prakanda has caught the most attention. Not only did she win her team with the bat, but she showed her skill in batting in an aggressive style. However, they needed a place in the ICC-selected best eleven.

Meanwhile, three of India’s champion teams got a place in the World Cup XI. There are three equal cricketers from the runner-up team in England. Besides, there is one cricketer each from Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, South Africa, New Zealand and Australia. But the surprising thing is that the captain of the champion team did not get the captaincy of the best eleven. England’s Grace Scrivens is in the lead.

2023 ICC U19 World Cup Best Xl:

Grace Scrivens (C/England), Shweta Sehrawat (India), Shafali Verma (India), Georgia Plimmer (New Zealand), Shorna Akter (Bangladesh), Dewmi Vihanga (Sri Lanka), Karabo Meso (WK/South Africa), Parshavi Chopra (India), Hannah Baker (England), Ellie Anderson (England) and Maggie Clark (Australia).

More in Cricket Article

WPL 2023 Winner Prize Money, Complete List of Award-Winners, Top Records & Stats – All You Need To Know

Mumbai Indians (Winners). (Photo Source: WPL/Twitter) The inaugural edition of...

WPL 2023, Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians, Final – Talking Points and Who Said What?

Issy Wong. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL) After a stunning performance with the...

Twitter Reactions: Mumbai Indians edge past Delhi Capitals to clinch inaugural WPL title

Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL) After entertaining the fans with...

New Zealand name squads for Sri Lanka and Pakistan T20Is, Tom Latham to lead

Tom Latham (Photo Source: Twitter) Tom Latham has made his return to the T20I...