Skip to main content

A stiff cricket battle coming up as full-strength India-England set to face-off


In international cricket, the Indian cricket team is now touring England for a five-match Test series. The games of the tour are set to begin tomorrow on August 4 with the first Test at Nottingham’s Trent Bridge. The 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th Test matches of the series will be played at different venues from August 12 to September 10.

Since 1932, England and India have met in a total of 126 Test matches, where England has won 48 and India has won 29 matches of them and 49 matches have been drawn. The last time the two teams met was in March 2021 in a Test series in India. England lost 3-1 to the hosts in that four-match series.

England last played a two-match Test series against visiting New Zealand, and lost the series 1-0 against the Kiwis, where the Kiwis won a match and another was drawn. On the other hand, the final match of the Test Championship 2021 in England was India’s last Test match, where they were defeated against New Zealand.

Out of their last 5 individual Test series, England and India both have won 3 of them. Both teams have put together a great team of experienced and new players for this series. So this series is expected to be a series full of fierce competition.

Statistically, the two teams are on equal footing, but the England players are now confident playing at home. So they will try their best to make the series memorable.

India is ranked 2nd and England is ranked 4th in the ICC Test rankings. So both teams have to work hard in this series to prove their superiority.

Test Squad:

England – Joe Root (c), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Rory Burns, Jack Leach, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Craig Overton, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Dom Bess, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Dan Lawrence, Ollie Pope, Dom Sibley, and Mark Wood

India – Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Suryakumar Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami,  Shardul Thakur, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Test match schedule for England and India:
1st Test – 04-08 August, Trent Bridge (Nottingham), 16:00 (GMT +6)
2nd Test – 12-16 August, Lord’s (London), 16:00 (GMT +6)
3rd Test – 25-29 August, Headingley (Leeds), 16:00 (GMT +6)
4th Test – 02-06 September, Kennington Oval (London), 16:00 (GMT +6)
5th Test – 10-14 September, Emirates Old Trafford (Manchester), 16:00 (GMT +6)

India defeated England last time in India. However, now the games are played in England, and certainly, the England team will look for revenge. Stay with Baji to know more about the series!

More in Cricket Article

IPL 2024 Captain List: Indian Premier League Captains and Coaches

IPL 2024, the 17th edition, begins on 22 March. It will run until 7 April 2024....

The Ultimate Showdown: IPL Playoff Predictions and Analysis

The IPL 2024 season is hurtling towards its dramatic finale, and cricket fans...

Muttiah Muralitharan’s T20 World Cup Journey: Forging a Legacy under the Spotlight

Muttiah Muralitharan, the wizard of spin, mesmerised cricket fans around the...

The Role of Foreign Players in IPL: Stars, Impact, and Controversies

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has revolutionized cricket, transforming it...