Skip to main content

Latest News

Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde promises INR 11 Crore reward for Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai quartet

Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde promises INR 11 Crore reward for Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai quartet

India ended an 11-year ICC title drought with a memorable T20 World Cup campaign culminating in a splendid come-from-behind seven-run victory against South Africa on June 29, 2024, in Barbados. The ensuing week has been incredibly eventful, to say the least, marked by stalwarts Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja announcing their retirements from T20I cricket immediately after.

India’s return, although delayed due to inclement weather in the Caribbean, was followed by a formal meeting and breakfast with the Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, and a spirited open-bus parade along Mumbai’s Marine Drive, culminating in a grand event at the Wankhede Stadium.

The Indian team not only experienced the overwhelming love and passion of the Mumbaikars, who filled the Queen’s Necklace and packed the entire stadium to capacity, but also received an additional funding of INR 125 crore from the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Initially, only INR 20.12 crore was earmarked by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the tournament winners. However, following the iconic triumph in Bridgetown, a social media post announced by the BCCI Secy that the board would grant an additional INR 125 crore to commend the team’s spirit, determination, and tenacity in achieving victory in a remarkable campaign which culminated in absolute elation.

Check Here: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya fervently dance to the tunes of Chak De India amidst an enthusiastic Wankhede crowd

In the latest development, it has been disclosed that Eknath Shinde, the current Chief Minister of Maharashtra, has announced the government’s decision to allocate an additional INR 11 crore as a gesture of utmost respect and recognition for the team’s commendable efforts. This amount will be distributed between the winning captain Rohit Sharma, Shivam Dube, Suryakumar Yadav, and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Notably, all the players on the receiving end of this prized gesture by the state government hail from that part of the world and have been representing Mumbai in the domestic circuit. This eventually must have made the leading as well as the opposition parties to come at a decision of rewarding the players for their reward.


To catch up on the most current news on all of your favorite thrilling cricket updates, visit BJSports to access our comprehensive Latest News, insightful analysis, and updates. connect with the action now to make sure you never miss out!

More in Latest News

Reports: Ajit Agarkar dubious of Hardik Pandya’s tactical ability as Captain

Hardik Pandya (Source :ICC/Getty) Hardik Pandya was stripped of the...

Vijay Hazare Trophy may decide Hardik Pandya’s future in ODIs

Hardik Pandya. (Source – Twitter/X) Hardik Pandya’s bowling fitness...

Reports: VVS Laxman in talks with Lucknow Super Giants for IPL stint

VVS Laxman. (Source – BCCI) Lucknow Super Giants have contacted former...