Skip to main content

Latest News

AB de Villiers names his team of World Cup 2023, includes five Indians but no Jasprit Bumrah

AB de Villiers. (Photo Source: Instagram/abdevilliers17)

Australia shattered a billion hopes on November 19 claiming their sixth ICC Cricket World Cup title by triumphing over India at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. Despite India’s stellar performance with 10 consecutive wins leading to the finals, the Men in Blue faced defeat in the final showdown. Australia’s relentless pursuit for victory clinched them another historic milestone in cricket’s grandest tournament.

Therefore, it comes as no shock that standout players in the World Cup hailed from India. Even the renowned South African batter, Ab de Villiers, acknowledged this fact. De Villiers, in his tournament’s dream team, selected five Indian talents, notably excluding Jasprit Bumrah despite his impressive haul of 20 wickets. 

He opted for Australia’s Travis Head and India’s skipper Rohit Sharma for the opening slots. Head’s rare feat of claiming the Player of the Match honor in both the semi-final and final positions, making him as the fourth player in history to achieve this distinction. Meanwhile, Sharma’s stellar performance secured him the position of the tournament’s second-highest run-scorer, providing India with strong openings consistently.

Rachin Ravindra makes it to de Villiers’ World Cup 2023 dream team 

De Villiers notably selected Virat Kohli, who surpassed Sachin Tendulkar’s record of most runs in a single edition with a striking 765 runs. Rachin Ravindra secured the no.4 spot in his lineup, having amassed 578 runs, setting a new record for the most runs in a World Cup edition for a player under 25, eclipsing Tendulkar’s previous mark. Ravindra’s prolific performance earned him a significant place in the dream team.

He included Shreyas Iyer, Glenn Maxwell,and Ravindra Jadeja. Adam Zampa, the lone leg-spinner, surpassed Muttiah Muralitharan’s record for most spinner wickets in a World Cup edition, claiming 23 dismissals. Mohammed Shami leads the pace attack, emerging as the tournament’s top wicket-taker with 24 scalps. Completing the pace trio are Dilshan Madhushanka of Sri Lanka and Gerald Coetzee of South Africa in De Villiers’ formidable lineup.

AB De Villiers’ team of ODI World Cup 2023:

Travis Head, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rachin Ravindra, Shreyas Iyer, Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra Jadeja, Adam Zampa, Dilshan Madushanka, Gerald Coetzee, Mohammed Shami

More in Latest News

Alyssa Healy takes rein as Australia’s new captain across all formats

Alyssa Healy. (Photo Source: Gareth Copley/Getty Images) It was on the cards...

December 9 Morning Brief: Today’s Top news and headlines from cricket world

PM Modi & Gautam Gambhir. (Photo Source: Twitter, Parwaz Khan/Hindustan...

‘It is an out-of-the-world feeling’ – Ravi Bishnoi’s humble response to T20I bowling crown

Ravi Bishnoi. (Photo Source: Pankaj Nangia/Getty Images) Youngster Ravi Bishnoi...

Abu Dhabi T10 2023, Qualifier 1 Review: Akeal Hosein, Rahmanullah Gurbaz carry New York Strikers into the final

New York Strikers (Photo Source: Abu Dhabi T10) 8th December 2023 Abu...