Skip to main content

Exclusive News

Top 3 T20 World Cup-winning Captains

It was just under a week ago that the T20 World Cup reached its end as the Indian Team won the title for the second time. It was a great end as the men in blue took home the title by 7 runs to end their long wait for an ICC title. Rohit Sharma, with this win, wrote his name in the cricketing history books.

Over the years, only a select few captains have gotten a chance to put their hands on the coveted title. The likes of Younis Khan, Lasith Malinga, Paul Collingwood, Jos Buttler, and Aaron Finch have done their country proud with their title-winning efforts.

The next T20 World Cup will be held in 2026 with India and Sri Lanka hosting the event. This will be a great chance for a new captain to showcase his skill and his mettle and write his name in the annals of cricketing history.

Here are the top 3 T20I World Cup winnings skipper

3. Darren Sammy – West Indies

Top 3 T20 World Cup-winning Captains
Darren Sammy

The former West Indian skipper was the mastermind behind the West Indies winning the title in 2016. No one can forget Carlos Brathwaite hitting Ben Stokes for 4 four sixes to win the title. West Indies had played the tournament well and had beaten India in the semi-finals of the tournament. Once the final came, the match was topsy turvy till the end and Darren Sammy saw his team take the top of the podium and win the T20I World Cup.

2. MS Dhoni – India

Top 3 T20 World Cup-winning Captains
MS Dhoni

India won the first-ever T20 World Cup in 2007 when they beat Pakistan by 5 runs in the finals of the tournament. MS Dhoni had to battle the odds and come from behind to help his team reach the final four. Beating Australia in a major tournament was never going to be easy but MS Dhoni and his side did that and went to the final. The catch taken by Sreesanth to dismiss Misbah Ul Haq is still a legendary moment in Indian cricketing history.

1. Rohit Sharma -India

Top 3 T20 World Cup-winning Captains
Rohit Sharma

It isn’t easy for a country like India to go without an ICC title for a long time. 11-years after winning the ICC Champions Trophy the Indian side went barren. The last time they came close to an ICC title was in 2023 when they played the finals of the World Test Championships and the ODI World Cup. When the last ball was bowled the Indian team and its skipper were happy as they had broken a long wait and taken their place as the rightful champions. 


For more exclusive updates Visit BJSports to access Exclusive News that is only for you, incisive analysis, and updates, and to keep up with all of the latest information on your remarkable cricket favorite players and teams. To ensure you never miss out, join in on the fun right away!

More in Exclusive News

Top 3 batting performances of Jason Roy in T20Is

Jason Roy is one of the best openers for England in the shortest format of the...

Top 3 batting performances of Jason Roy in IPL

Jason Roy has been one of the best England players in the IPL. He played some...

Top 3 batting performances of Chandu Borde in Tests

Chandrakant Gulabrao Borde, born on July 21, 1934, is an all-rounder who was...

OTD | Former India all-rounder Chandu Borde was born in 1934

Chandu Borde was a part of the Indian Cricket Team between 1958 and 1970. He...