Skip to main content

Ebadot’s spell in the Wisden’s best of the Year

উইজডেনের বর্ষসেরায় এবাদতের স্পেল

Bangladesh has an incredible achievement in Tests in 2022. The tigers get a historic win at Mt Manganui. New Zealand’s defeat is considered to be the most memorable match in Bangladesh’s Test history. And one of the heroes of the win, Tiger pacer Ebadat Hossain. Ibadat’s match-winning bowling spell was recognized as the best of the year by Wisden.

Why is the victory of Mt Manganui getting so much importance or why is the spell of worship so special? This question may arise. When New Zealand scored 328 runs in the first innings of that match, Bangladesh scored 458 runs in reply. Even then, who knew that only one wicket in the first innings would become the hero of victory? But he is the unforgettable hero of the incredible victory.

Although the batsmen also contributed in terms of performance in that match. Liton Kumar Das, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Muminul Haque, Mahmudul Hasan Joy and Mehdi Hasan Miraj showed their willows in the field of Kiwis. But overshadowing them, 7-wicket catcher Ebadat stole the limelight. Especially with his 6-wicket haul in the second innings, Bangladesh tasted victory.

Meanwhile, getting a place in Wisden’s best of the year is also something special for Ibadat. For the pacer, a regular in the Tigers’ Test team, this recognition could be an inspiration in the future. After that success in white dresses, he is now doing well in colourful dresses as well. Bowling has brought innovation. With speed, yorker, bouncer, slower, this tiger pacer is taking the cutter as well.

Second, on Wisden’s list is Pat Cummins’ 56 for 5 against Pakistan. In third place is Matt Henry’s 7 wickets for 23 runs against South Africa. In fourth place is Oli Robinson’s 5-wicket haul of 50 runs against Pakistan. Besides, Prabhat Jayasuriya has 6 wickets for 59 runs against Australia, fifth in the list. Many congratulated this Bangladeshi pacer after such an achievement.

More in Cricket Article

Twitter Reactions: Australia on top despite India’s spirited fightback on Day 3

Shardul Thakur and Ajinkya Rahane. (Photo Source: GLYN KIRK/AFP via Getty...

Twitter Reactions: Australia in driver’s seat following India’s top-order collapse on Day 2

India vs Australia. (Photo Source: Justin Setterfield/Getty Images) Australia...

Twitter Reactions: Australia in command after Steve Smith and Travis Head’s momentous stand on Day 1

India vs Australia WTC Final. (Photo Source: Getty Images, Photo by Alex...

Twitter Reactions: Kusal Mendis, spinners stand tall in Sri Lanka’s merciless display against Afghanistan in Hambantota

Sri Lanka The second game of the three-match ODI series between Afghanistan and...