Skip to main content

Ben McDermott, Travis Head featured in the Aussie cohort for the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The five-match T20I series between Sri Lanka and Australia will begin in Australia on February 11. Hosts Australia has announced their squad for the series, and Travis Head has been called up for his brilliant performance in the Ashes. Moises Henriques, Jhye Richardson, and Ben McDermott have also been named in the squad.

However, the heroes of the last T20 World Cup win, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh, have been rested till the tour of Pakistan. Justin Langer and other support staff will also miss this five-match series. In that case, the assistant coach Andrew McDonald will take charge of the squad. Josh Hazlewood, who has played just one Test in the Ashes due to a side injury, has also returned to the squad.

On the other hand, Travis Head, who has been named the player of the series in the Ashes, is coming to the field to play a T20I match for the Australian team for the first time after 2018. Since making his debut in 2016, he has played 16 T20I matches for the Aussies.

Ben McDermott seems to have selected the best performance in the current Big Bash League. He was the highest run-scorer in the tournament, with 577 runs for the Hobart Hurricanes. Although Moises Henriques was not in the squad for the T20 World Cup 2021, he was part of the visiting team of the West Indies and Bangladesh last year. 

However, the captain of the Sydney Sixers has taken part in the Sri Lanka series by performing well in the BBL.

Fast bowler Jhye Richardson also returned to the squad after almost a year. He played his last T20I match on a tour of New Zealand in 2021. However, he took five wickets in an innings in the Ashes of Adelaide Test before suffering a lower leg injury.

Australia’s Squad for Sri Lanka tour:

Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Jhye Richardson, Steven Smith, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Marcus Stoinis, and Adam Zampa

More in Cricket Article

IPL 2024 Captain List: Indian Premier League Captains and Coaches

IPL 2024, the 17th edition, begins on 22 March. It will run until 7 April 2024....

The Ultimate Showdown: IPL Playoff Predictions and Analysis

The IPL 2024 season is hurtling towards its dramatic finale, and cricket fans...

Muttiah Muralitharan’s T20 World Cup Journey: Forging a Legacy under the Spotlight

Muttiah Muralitharan, the wizard of spin, mesmerised cricket fans around the...

The Role of Foreign Players in IPL: Stars, Impact, and Controversies

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has revolutionized cricket, transforming it...