Skip to main content

Latest News

World Cup 2023 Qualifiers: Corey Anderson overlooked by USA in 15-member squad

Corey Anderson. (Photo Source: Instagram)

Ahead of the crucial 2023 ODI World Cup Qualifiers, former New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson has been overlooked in the 15-member squad announced by USA. Notably, the dynamic all-rounder announced his retirement from the Kiwis’ national setup and decided to join USA’s cricketing ventures including the Major League Cricket (MLC) in 2020.

Despite being eligible for a USA call-up earlier in 2023, the national team decided to overlook the services of Anderson in the 15-member squad. It is worth mentioning that the selectors retained the 14-member contingent that toured Namibia in March and added the services of left-arm pacer Abhishek Paradkar as the 15th member in their setup.

Paradkar returns to the national team after a 20-month hiatus as his last outing was back in September, 2021. Nisarg Patel, Nosthush Kenjige, and Usman Rafiq are the three specialist spin options who have made the cut for the qualifiers.

Furthermore, skipper Monank Patel will continue to lead the team whereas Aaron Jones has been named his deputy. The USA are placed alongside Nepal, West Indies, Netherlands and Zimbabwe in Group A of the event.

USA to eye top-two with campaign-opener against West Indies

In addition to this, the side will kickstart their road to the ICC ODI World Cup 2023, as they lock horns with two-time winners West Indies on Sunday, June 18 in Harare. Prior to the event, USA will play two warm-up fixtures against Ireland and Sri Lanka.

It is worth noting that the 10 teams featuring in the event are competing for the final two spots of the ODI World Cup 2023. The mega ODI marquee event is scheduled to be played in India in October. Moreover, the ICC is yet to release the official schedule and could likely release it following the conclusion of the World Cup Qualifiers.

USA Squad: Monank Patel (c), Aaron Jones (vc), Steven Taylor, Gajanand Singh, Sai Teja Mukkamalla, Saurabh Netravalkar, Nisarg Patel, Kyle Phillip, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Usman Rafiq, Abhishek Paradkar, Ali Khan, Shayan Jahangir, Sushant Modani.

More in Latest News

WTC 2023 Final: Dinesh Karthik shares images of The Oval pitch, Michael Vaughan in favour of bowling first

Oval Pitch. (Photo Source: Twitter) The pitch at the Oval has come under the...

I am an Englishman, I would love to see India beat Australia, please: Graeme Swann

Graeme Swann and Team India. (Photo Source: Twitter) The excitement for the...