Skip to main content

Latest News

Why are Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Kuldeep Yadav not playing T20 World Cup 2024 Match 8 between IND vs IRE?

Reasons Behind Samson, Jaiswal, and Kuldeep Missing IND vs IRE Match

Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Kuldeep Yadav. (Source – Twitter/X)

India are set to play their first match of the ongoing T20 World Cup against Ireland at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

Notable names like Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal are not included in India’s lineup for this match because the team opted for a different strategy. To strengthen their pace attack, India included three seamers in the playing XI. Additionally, they aimed to enhance their batting depth, relying on Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel in a double role to take care of the spin department as well. This approach allowed India to have a balanced team with both strong bowling and batting capabilities.

Additionally, India chose to include Shivam Dube and Virat Kohli in the lineup, opting for a combination of fresh talent and seasoned experience. This decision resulted in the exclusion of the young opener Yashasvi Jaiswal and the experienced Sanju Samson, who could not make it being the secondary wicketkeeping option behind Rishabh Pant.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Ian Bishop bats for Yashasvi Jaiswal’s inclusion in India’s playing XI

Indian captain Rohit Sharma explained that the team has been adapting to new conditions, which have been challenging but manageable.

“We’re going to bowl. Preparations have been alright. Have been managing ourselves in these new conditions. Has been challenging but we are all professionals. We played on a similar pitch and do know what to expect a little bit. I know it’s going to be slightly different from what we’re used to. But that’s what the sport is. Not sure about the conditions too much, so thought having a target in front of us would be good. Guys missing out are Kuldeep, Sanju, Jaiswal and one more,” Rohit said.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj

Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling(c), Andrew Balbirnie, Lorcan Tucker(w), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little, Benjamin White

More in Latest News

England’s 234-year-old club bans sixes to abide by neighbour’s complaints

Bat and Ball (Photo Source: Twitter) England, where cricket originated, has...

Reports: Afghanistan confirm travelling to Pakistan for Champions Trophy 2025

Pakistan Cricket and Afghanistan Cricket. (Source – Twitter/X) Since the...

Reports: Yuvraj Singh to join Gujarat Titans coaching set up; Ashish Nehra, Vikram Solanki set to leave

Yuvaraj Singh and Ashish Nehra. (Source – Twitter/X) There could be a...

Hundred coaching stint is building Flintoff into future England coach: Stuart Broad

Freddie Flintoff kkr. (Photo Source: X(Twitter) Former England all-rounder,...