Skip to main content

Latest News

Why are Iftikhar Ahmed and Dilpreet Bajwa not playing T20 World Cup 2024 Match 22 between Canada vs Pakistan?

Why are Iftikhar Ahmed and Dilpreet Bajwa not playing T20 World Cup 2024 Match 22 between Canada vs Pakistan?

Iftikhar Ahmed and Dilpreet Bajwa. (Source – Getty Images)

Pakistan take on Canada in Match 22 of the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Nassau County Stadium in New York on Tuesday, June 11. Pakistan won the toss and opted to bowl first. The Men-In-Green made one major change as they brought in Saim Ayub at the expense of Iftikhar Ahmed. It is worth noting that Iftikhar failed to create an impact against United States of America in the Super Over and looked in poor touch against India.

On the other hand, Canada too have made one change to their playing XI as they haver dropped Dilpreet Bajwa and have brought Ravinderpal Singh. It comes as a surprising move from Canada as they have tinkered with their winning combination from last game. Bajwa was dismissed cheaply for seven runs in the game against Ireland.

“We will have a bowl first. It is an early morning match and want to utilize the first six overs. We have one change – Saim Ayub is in. We have had a discussion and are focused on today’s game. We have a quick turnaround, we have no other option but to win this game. I have played against some of their bowlers,” said Babar at the toss.

“I would have bowled first as well. But we have seen teams have found it difficult chasing, so hopefully we can put the runs on the board. We have one change. We have been playing some good cricket and want to continue that consistency. We understand it is a must-win game for them and they are under pressure, put some runs on the board and put pressure on them,” said Saad Bin Zafar at the toss.

Canada (Playing XI): Aaron Johnson, Navneet Dhaliwal, Pargat Singh, Nicholas Kirton, Shreyas Movva(w), Ravinderpal Singh, Saad Bin Zafar(c), Dillon Heyliger, Kaleem Sana, Junaid Siddiqui, Jeremy Gordon

Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan(w), Saim Ayub, Babar Azam(c), Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Amir

More in Latest News

Vitality T20 Blast 2024: June 12 Match Review – Players’ Stats, Scorecards, Performances, and More

Leicestershire Team. (Photo Source: Leicestershire) Vitality Blast 2024 has...

Explained: Why were USA fined five-run penalty vs India in T20 World Cup 2024 match?

India vs USA. (Photo Source: Alex Davidson-ICC/ICC via Getty Images) The...

T20 World Cup 2024: USA’s Qualification Scenario – Can they reach Super 8 after loss to India?

USA cricket Team. (Photo Source: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images) The provisional...