Skip to main content

Latest News

Vitality T20 Blast 2024: June 12 Match Review – Players’ Stats, Scorecards, Performances, and More

Vitality T20 Blast 2024 June 12 Match Review - Players' Stats, Scorecards, Performances, and More

Leicestershire Team. (Photo Source: Leicestershire)

Vitality Blast 2024 has started on a good note and the action is just turning into carnage by each passing game. On Wednesday, June 12, only one match took place, wherein Leicestershire took on Durham in a low-scoring thriller. In the 40th group stage match of the tournament, Leicester bowled its opponent, and ended up claiming the win. Leicestershire were brilliant and hung in the game till Durham had a chance.

Batting first, Leicestershire managed to score 140 runs in their 30 overs. No batter played a blinder, but many were handy with their contributions. The likes of Rehan Ahmed, Peter Handscomb, and the tail-enders helped the side to get to a decent total on the board. Rishi Patel anchored the innings and others batted around him. They were helped by some extras, which proved to be costly for Durham.

Matty Potts, Ben Raine, and Sowter bowled brilliant spells and ensured Leicestershire to be restricted to 140 runs. It was not a massive target to chase. But the bowling attack of Leicestershire was disciplined. They gave no room for the batters and claimed wickets in the crucial junctures of the game. Barring Graham Clark and Ashton Turner, all batters failed.

In fact, only the two of them managed to score over 5 runs. Turner was the best batter of the match, who scored at a good rate. Unfortunately, he could not win the match for his side. Leicestershire bowlers operated well as a unit. However, Wiaan Mulder was the pick of the bowlers, who claimed some important wickets and contained runs. In the end, Leicestershire claimed a 10-run win.

Brief Scores

Leicestershire vs Durham

– LEICS – 140/8 in 20 overs

Rishi Patel 48(44), Peter Handscomb 26(28);

Matty Potts 3/20(4), Ben Raine 2/28(4)

Check here: Vitality Blast Points Table 2024


– DURH – 130/8 in 20 overs

Graham Clark 53*(56), Ashton Turner 49(32);

Wiaan Mulder 2/19(4), Josh Ben Raine Hull 1/16(4)

LEICS won by 10 runs.

More in Latest News