Skip to main content

Latest News

Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah return as Bangladesh announce squad for New Zealand series

Tamim Iqbal. (Photo Source: Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Former Bangladesh skipper Tamim Iqbal is all set to make his return to international cricket after suffering from a back injury for quite some time. He announced his retirement from international cricket earlier in the year but changed his decision after a meeting with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. The southpaw hasn’t played for the national team since then; hence, his return to the team will boost Bangladesh’s morale ahead of the ODI World Cup, which is slated to begin on October 5.

After all the discussions regarding his future, Mahmudullah Riyad also got his name on the list. He was dropped after the home series against England in March and since then, he has expressed multiple times that he doesn’t have much idea regarding him getting dropped. Meanwhile, following a poor performance in the ongoing Asia Cup 2023, Bangladesh have called the veteran back and the cricketer can prove to be crucial in the series against New Zealand and also in the ODI World Cup.

Other than that, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mehidy Hasan Miraz have been given rest for the first two ODIs of the series. The pace trio of Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam have also been rested. Soumya Sarkar, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Zakir Hasan, Khaled Ahmed, and Rishad Hossain will be replacing them in the middle.

The National Selection Panel Chairman Minhajul Abedin stated that some of the players are given rest to ensure they remain fit for the World Cup. He added that the squad is a perfect blend of experience and youth, and are confident of their chances. 

“The decision to rest players was taken in consideration of the World Cup in India which will be a long tournament where ensuring the mental and physical fitness of the cricketers will be very important. The series against New Zealand provides us with an opportunity to take a look at some other players as well ahead of this major event. The squad is a blend of experience and youth,” Zakir stated.

Bangladesh squad for first two ODIs: Liton Das (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Khaled Ahmed.

More in Latest News

Sourav Ganguly backs Rohit Sharma to lead India across formats

Sourav Ganguly. (Photo Source: Twitter) Veteran Indian batter Rohit Sharma has...

ODI Cricket World Cup 2023: Ranking top 10 openers

Rohit Sharma (Photo Source: Twitter) After a gruelling Cricket World Cup 2023,...

PCB removes Salman Butt as consultant hours after appointment

Salman Butt. (Photo Source: Philip Brown/Popperfoto/Popperfoto via Getty...

‘You cannot be there forever’ – Sourav Ganguly as India drop Rahane, Pujara from Test squad

Sourav Ganguly. (Photo Source: Twitter) The BCCI recently announced...