Skip to main content

Latest News

T20 World Cup leading wicket-takers list from 2007 to 2024

T20 World Cup leading wicket-takers list from 2007 to 2024

Fazalhaq Farooqi. (Photo Source: ICC)

The age-old tale of ‘batters win you games and bowlers win you tournaments’ still stands true and more so in T20 cricket. The game of cricket is changing rapidly, thanks to the shortest format, and it is somewhat impartial for the bowlers. The rules change in favour of the batters in most cases but the bowlers still hold the key and make the difference.

Bowling in T20 cricket requires a combination of skill, variation, and adaptability. The ability to pick up wickets at key moments can swing the momentum of a match and put the bowling side in a commanding position. Here are a list of bowlers who have done that time and again in each edition of the T20 World Cup:

T20 World Cup 2007

Pakistan’s Umar Gul finished as the leading wicket-taker in the 2007 T20 World Cup. In seven matches, the pacer picked up 13 wickets at an average of 11.92 and courtesy of his brilliant performances, Pakistan qualified for the finals of the competition. They were on the verge of winning it as well but India pulled off something spectacular towards the end and won their maiden and only T20 world title.

T20 World Cup 2009

Umar Gul once again finished as the leading wicket-taker in 2009. He had picked up 13 wickets in seven matches once again and courtesy of his performance, Pakistan managed to win the T20 World Cup in 2009. They defeated Sri Lanka on the night of the finals, in which Gul picked up the wicket of Chamara Silva. He was extremely consistent for the entire season, which played a vital role in Pakistan’s success.

T20 World Cup 2010

Australia’s Dirk Nannes finished as the leading wicket-taker in 2010. The ace pacer picked up 14 wickets in seven matches at an average of 13.07 as Australia qualified for the finals. However, they lost to England but Nannes’ performance was extremely impressive, which helped him earn multiple franchise contracts in the future.

T20 World Cup 2012

In the home conditions, Ajantha Mendis was almost unplayable in the 2012 T20 World Cup. The Sri Lanka spinner picked 15 wickets in six matches at an average of 9.80, which is phenomenal, to say the least. Courtesy of his influential performances, Sri Lanka qualified for the finals of the competition but failed to get the job done against a strong West Indies side.

T20 World Cup 2014

Imran Tahir and Ahsan Malik finished as the joined leading-wicket-taker in the tournament. Tahir picked up 12 wickets in just five wickets, while Netherands’ Malik took seven wickets to pick up same number of wickets. In that edition, South Africa played in the semis but lost to India while Netherlands couldn’t cross the group stage.

T20 World Cup 2016

Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi finished as the leading wicket-taker in the 2016 T20 World Cup. He was terrific in the qualification which helped Afghanistan qualify for the main round of the competition. In the Super 10, he failed to impress as Afghanistan was knocked out after finishing last in their group.

T20 World Cup 2021

Wanindu Hasaranga finished as the leading wicket-taker in the 2021 edition. He was spectacular in the spin-friendly conditions of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) as the Sri Lanka international picked 16 wickets in eight matches. He failed to take Sri Lanka to the semis but nevertheless, was extremely impressive.

T20 World Cup 2022

Wanindu Hasaranga became the second player to finish as the leading wicket-taker in two different editions of the T20 World Cup. In Australia, the current Sri Lanka skipper picked up 15 wickets in eight matches but once again, the Lankan Lions failed to qualify for the semis.

T20 World Cup 2024

Afghanistan’s Fazalhaq Farooqi is the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, with 17 wickets to his name. However, India’s Arshdeep Singh is right behind him and can go on top if he keeps up with the momentum in the remainder of the tournament.

More in Latest News

ENG vs WI 2024: West Indies announce playing XI for second Test

West Indies Cricket. (Source – Twitter/X) England and the West Indies are...

Reports: Gautam Gambhir concludes meeting with Ajit Agarkar ahead of SL tour, captaincy debate delays team announcement

Gautam Gambhir. (Photo Source: Star Sports) The newly appointed head coach of...

‘Same as Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni’ – Kapil Dev heaps praise on Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. (Source – Twitter/X) Former India skipper...

‘First thing is acceptance’ – Paras Mhambrey reveals how he coped with Bumrah’s absence in his tenure

Paras Mhambrey and Jasprit Bumrah. (Source – Twitter/X) The tenure of...