Skip to main content

Latest News

New Zealand name squads for Sri Lanka and Pakistan T20Is, Tom Latham to lead

New Zealand name squads for Sri Lanka and Pakistan T20Is, Tom Latham to lead

Tom Latham (Photo Source: Twitter)

Tom Latham has made his return to the T20I setup as he will lead New Zealand for their upcoming series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

The Black Caps are currently in the middle of an ODI series against Sri Lanka and will be taking them on for three T20I matches starting on Sunday, April 2. Recently, New Zealand Cricket announced that 30-year-old Latham will be the skipper of the Black Caps for their T20I series against Sri Lanka.

Following that, Latham will also lead New Zealand in a five-match T20I series against Pakistan, which is scheduled to begin on April 14. The Black Caps’ squad features a plethora of young talent that includes the likes of Rachin Ravindra, Chad Bowes, and Henry Shipley, along with many other names.

New Zealand will hope that Latham can come through for his side in the upcoming matches. Talking about their ongoing series, they have won the first ODI against Sri Lanka and will hope for similar showings in the upcoming games as well.

Tom Latham’s adaptability also means he can feature in a range of batting positions: Gary Stead

Following Latham’s appointment as T20I captain for the two series, New Zealand head coach Gary Stead came forward to heap praise on the 30-year-old.

“We saw against India earlier this season the power and range of shots that Tom possessed. His adaptability also means he can feature in a range of batting positions. He led an inexperienced T20 squad to Bangladesh in 2021, and we were really impressed with his leadership of that group during a COVID bubble tour,” Gary Stead stated in a release.

He also talked about the new players who were announced in the squad, saying: “We’ve got players returning and guys potentially making their debuts, that’s a really exciting mix to have in the group for these matches. Players like Tim and Cole haven’t been around the squad for a little while, and I am sure they will bring good energy when they are involved. They have both earned their selection with strong domestic performances this season.”

Squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: 

Tom Latham (c, wk), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Will Young

Squad for Pakistan T20Is:

Tom Latham (c, wk), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Cole McConchie, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

More in Latest News

IPL 2024: Delhi Capitals’ 2nd innings highlights against LSG in Match 26

Delhi Capitals. (Source -IPL/2024) A quickfire start by the openers of the...

MI vs CSK, IPL 2024, Match 29: Stats Preview of Players’ Records and Approaching Milestones

IPL 2024: Match 29, MI vs CSK Stats Preview (Source -IPL/BCCI) Mumbai Indians...

IPL 2024 Qualification Scenarios: How can Lucknow Super Giants qualify for playoffs after DC’s win over LSG?

LSG vs DC. (Source -IPL/BCCI) Rishabh Pant’s Delhi Capitals weren’t having...

IPL 2024: LSG vs DC Match 26 Highlights: Unmissable video recap, turning points, match analysis, stats, and more

Delhi Capitals. (Source -IPL/2024) Delhi Capitals finally registered their...