Skip to main content

Latest News

Lata Mondal returns as Bangladesh name squad for South Africa tour

Lata Mondal returns as Bangladesh name squad for South Africa tour

Lata-Mondal. (Photo by Marco Longari / AFP) (Photo by MARCO LONGARI/AFP via Getty Images)

Women’s cricket in Bangladesh has shown signs of improvement in recent times. They defeated India for the first time in ODI cricket earlier in 2023 and also won a T20I against the Women in Blue after five years. They also clinched the bronze medal in the Asian Games by defeating Pakistan in the third-place playoff game. Bangladesh followed it up by beating Pakistan 2-1 in an ODI and T20I series.

Nigar Sultana’s women will hope to continue progressing when they travel to South Africa to play three T20Is followed by as many ODIs in December. The ODI series is a part of the 2022-25 Women’s Championship. South Africa are currently occupying the fifth spot on the table with seven wins from nine games, while Bangladesh are placed at number seven with three wins from 12.

Veteran all-rounder Lata Mondal has been named in the 16-woman side that will make the trip to South Africa. She last played against India in the ODI series in July but missed the recent assignment against Pakistan.

15-year-old off-spinner Nishita Akter, who made her debut in the Pakistan series, left-arm spinner Sanjida Akter, opener Sharmin Akhter, and left-arm pacer Fariha Trisna have been named as reserves. Opener Shathi Rani, who was part of the T20I squad against Pakistan, has been left out.

Bangladesh‘s white-ball tour of South Africa will begin with the first T20I, which will be played in Benoni on December 3. The remaining two T20Is are scheduled to take place in Kimberley on December 6 and 8. The ODI leg will resume in East London with the first game being played on December 16. Potchefstroom will host the second ODI before the action returns to Benoni for the third and final ODI on December 23.

Bangladesh will look to improve their dismal record against the Proteas as they have won just two out of 18 ODIs and once in 11 T20Is.

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana (captain), Nahida Akter (vice-captain), Shamima Sultana, Murshida Khatun, Sobhana Mostary, Fargana Hoque, Lata Mondal, Shorna Akter, Ritu Moni, Shorifa Khatun, Sumaiya Akter, Rabeya Khan, Sultana Khatun, Fahima Khatun, Marufa Akter, Disha Biswas

More in Latest News

Indian Street Premier League to kickstart from March aimed to hone local talent

Bat and Ball (Photo Source: Twitter) In a groundbreaking move for cricket...

If Rohit and Virat are in good form, they should be picked for T20 World Cup: Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: X(Twitter) Rohit...

Babar Azam has got a great batting temperament and has the ability to take the game away from you: Mitchell Starc

Babar Azam. (Photo Source: Matthew Lewis/Getty Images) Ahead of Australia’s...