Skip to main content

Latest News

IPL 2024, DC vs CSK: 4 records and milestones broken by MS Dhoni in Match 13

MS Dhoni. (Source -IPL)

After starting their 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) campaign with a couple of convincing triumphs, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) got their first defeat at the hands of Delhi Capitals (DC) in Visakhapatnam. Chasing a massive target of 192, the Yellow Army fell 20 runs short, but CSK supporters got to witness their team’s former captain MS Dhoni’s batting for the first time, this year. 

Batting at number eight, Dhoni exuded confidence and hit an unbeaten 37 off just 16 deliveries. The veteran’s spunky innings was studded with four fours and three maximums. In the end, the five-time IPL winner couldn’t win the game for Chennai but brought cheers to the faces of his supporters as he became the owner of some impressive feats.

Also Read: IPL Points Table 2024 | IPL Standings & Team Rankings

Here are four milestones Dhoni became the owner of during the DC vs CSK clash:

4. Batter with 20 runs in an over most times

In the last over of the contest, the former Indian skipper hit Anrich Nortje for 20 runs with four boundaries (two fours and two maximums). His sensational hitting in the last over reduced DC’s victory margin. It was the ninth time, Dhoni scored 20 runs in an over of the league, which is the most in the cash-rich league.

Following him, Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant have scored 20 runs in six deliveries eight and six times respectively in their IPL careers. Virender Sehwag, Yusuf Pathan, and Hardik Pandya are the third on the chart with five times apiece.

3. First batter to smash 100 sixes in the 19th and 20th over of the innings

Dhoni’s fierce batting against Delhi in the last over made him the first and only batter to rack up 100 maximums in the last two overs of an innings. Against Nortje in the 20th over, the Ranchi-born hit two sixes and became the owner of this unique feat. Kieron Pollard (57), AB de Villiers (55), Hardik Pandya (55), Andre Russell (51), and Ravindra Jadeja (46) follow the 42-year-old on the chart.

2. First wicketkeeper-batter to hit 5000 runs in IPL

In the contest between DC and CSK in Visakhapatnam, Thala Dhoni became the first wicket-keeper batter to score 5000 or more, runs in IPL. He is followed by Dinesh Karthik (4233), Robin Uthappa (3011), Quinton de Kock (2812) and Rishabh Pant (2737).

1. First Asian Wicketkeeper batter to score 7000 runs in T20s 

Dhoni became the first Asian and Indian stumper-batter to score 7,000 runs in T20 cricket. With his first boundary in the game, the 42-year-old became the only designated wicket-keeper batter from the Asian continent to pull off the amazing feat.

Also Read: IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2024 | List of IPL Winners & Runners-Up of all season

It is worth mentioning that the former India veteran’s record is followed by Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan, who has scored 6,962 runs in all T20s.

More in Latest News

IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings’ 1st Innings Highlights against LSG in Match 39

Ruturaj Gaikwad. (Source -IPL/BCCI) At the M.A Chidambaram stadium, Chennai...

Reports: Team India may not travel to Pakistan for the Champions Trophy 2025

Team India. (Photo Source: PHILL MAGAKOE/AFP via Getty Images) Mohsin Naqvi,...

Teams will need anchors in slow pitches of T20 World Cup: David Warner

David Warner in Delhi Capital ( Photo source : X / Twitter ) As the T20 World...

Australia’s probable 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Australia. (Photo by BIJU BORO/AFP via Getty Images) The excitement for the...