Skip to main content

Latest News

Chris Gayle set to lead Telangana Tigers in inaugural Indian Veteran Premier League

Chris-Gayle. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Some legendary players will be in action during the inaugural edition of the Indian Veteran Premier League (IVPL), which starts on February 23. All the matches in the tournament will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun. The summit clash is scheduled to be held on March 3.

The renowned West Indies batter, Chris Gayle, will be participating in the tournament. He will be leading the Telangana Tigers. Dehradun will get the chance to witness the action of the highest run-getter in the shortest format of the game in action. Expressing his excitement, the 44-year-old stated that his self-belief and the love of the fans keep him going.

“What gets me going? My belief in myself and the sounds of the crowd going crazy. This is the Universe Boss, and I’m back on the pitch with big names in the first Indian Veteran Premier League. So gear up for the IVPL because old is gold,” Gayle was quoted as saying by Hindustan Times.

At the Telangana Tigers, Gayle will have the company of former West Indies teammate Ricardo Powell and former Indian and Chennai Super Kings players – Sudeep Tyagi and Manpreet Gony.

Also Read: Sunil Gavaskar makes major prediction for Chennai Super Kings ahead of IPL 2024

The tournament is organised by the Board for Veteran Cricket in India (BVCI) and managed by 100 Sports. The cricket fraternity will have the chance to watch legendary players like Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Rajat Bhatia, Chris Gayle, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar, Yusuf Pathan, Herschelle Gibbs, and many more in action during the tournament.

“We are trying to create one of the best leagues in India after IPL, we have added the World’s best cricketers,” Praveen Tyagi, the Acting President of BVCI and Chairman of IVPL said.

The participating teams include VVIP Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan Legends, Red Carpet Delhi, Chhattisgarh Warriors, Telangana Tigers, and Mumbai Champions. Each team will have four to five iconic players in their ranks across the globe.

Also Read: WPL 2024: Mumbai Indians set to begin practice in a bid to defend their title

More in Latest News

WPL 2024: GG, RCB name Sayali Sathgare, Shraddha Pokarkar as replacements

Gujarat Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore name Sayali Sathgare and...

Cricket Buzz: Social media trends on February 19

The social media was once again buzzing with updates from the cricketing...

Naseem Shah showers praise on ‘humble’ Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is one of the most revered cricketers in the sport and serves as an...