Skip to main content

Latest News

BCCI considers longer gaps between Ranji matches among other significant changes

BCCI considers longer gaps between Ranji matches among other significant changes

In this post, we will discuss how cricket in India is set to witness some significant changes, with the BCCI considering longer gaps between matches to be acceptable. Cricket in India is set to witness some significant changes, with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) considering various proposals to enhance the structure and management of domestic tournaments.

One of the major changes proposed by the Cricket Committee of the BCCI is to introduce a four-day gap between Ranji Trophy matches instead of the current three-day interval. This adjustment aims to provide players with more time to recuperate and maintain their performance levels throughout the season.

Additionally, the elimination of the toss in the Under-23 CK Nayudu Trophy is under consideration, with the visiting team being given the choice to bat or bowl. Points will be awarded based on runs scored and wickets taken, incentivizing teams to pursue outright wins. If successful, this points system may be extended to the Ranji Trophy in the future.

Also Check: BCCI to seek new men’s head coach soon, Rahul Dravid may reapply

Jay Shah, the BCCI secretary, highlighted the importance of these changes, emphasizing the need to address player workload and promote balanced performances.

“There will be an increased gap between matches to allow players sufficient time for recovery and to maintain peak performance throughout the season,” Shah said,” he stated as quoted by Indian Express.

The proposed alterations also aim to mitigate weather-related disruptions during the winter season in north India. To achieve this, the Ranji Trophy is suggested to commence in October, with the league matches divided into two phases. The knockout phase will be held after the T20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and the Vijay Hazare Trophy, potentially minimizing the impact of fog and bad light on matches.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans sign Gurnoor Singh Brar as replacement for Sushant Mishra

“The CK Nayudu Trophy will implement a new points system aimed at promoting balanced performances. This includes awarding points for batting and bowling performances in the first innings, in addition to points for the first innings lead or outright win,” Shah stated. “The visiting team will have the right to choose whether to bat or bowl first. A review will be conducted at the end of the season to assess the effectiveness of the new points system. A decision will be taken on whether to implement it in the Ranji Trophy for the following season,” Shah explained.

Shardul Thakur, an India pacer representing Mumbai, had previously expressed concerns about the tight scheduling of domestic matches. He highlighted the challenges faced by players due to the short three-day break between games, especially during the latter stages of the tournament.

“It is extremely tough for domestic players… to expect them to play 10 games in a row with just a three-day gap, (especially) if the team reaches the final. The schedule is becoming tighter and tighter,” Thakur had said last season after the semifinals.

Overall, these proposed changes aim to improve the structure and organization of domestic cricket in India, ensuring better player management, promoting competitive performances, and reducing weather-related disruptions during the season.

More in Latest News

May 29: Cricket Social Media Trends – Trending tweets, memes, news highlights, and more

Hardik Pandya. (Photo Source: X(Twitter) Today on social media, several...

Pakistan’s 2009 T20 World Cup Winners: Where are they now?

Pakistan (Champions T20 World Cup 2009). (Source – Twitter/X) In 2009,...

‘IPL form is absolutely irrelevant’ – Usman Khawaja backs Glenn Maxwell to come good at T20 World Cup 2024

Usman Khawaja and Glenn Maxwell. (Source -Twitter/X) Cricketers experience bad...

Australia’s 2021 T20 World Cup Winners: Where are they now?

Australia cricket team. (Photo by Alex Davidson/Getty Images) Australia won...