Skip to main content

Latest News

Bangladesh Squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Complete Player List and Squad Details

Bangladesh Squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Complete Player List and Squad Details

Bangladesh Cricket Team. (Photo Source: X(Twitter)

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Tuesday (May 14) announced the squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 to be held in the USA and West Indies in June. Left-hand batter Najmul Hossain Shanto will lead the 15-member squad with an equal presence of youngsters and veteran players.

The 15-member squad includes a blend of experience and youth, with stalwarts like Shakib Al Hasan, who has featured in every T20 World Cup since the inaugural edition in 2007, providing the backbone. Alongside him are the likes of Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, and Mahmudullah, all of whom bring their wealth of experience to the fore.

Also read: You can’t compare IPL with international cricket at all: Najmul Hossain Shanto

Taskin Ahmed’s fitness to be monitored during the tournament 

The inclusion of Taskin Ahmed, despite his recent side strain during the Zimbabwe series, shows the team’s faith in his abilities, while his recovery will be closely monitored in the lead-up to the tournament.

The pace spearhead is expected to receive treatment over the next few weeks to ensure he is a match-fit for the side’s opening encounter. In the bowling department, Bangladesh have included Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, and Tanzim Hasan who can rattle the opposition’s batting line-up.

The Shanto-led side will also travel with two traveling reserves, who can replace any member in case of an injury in the middle of the tournament.

Bangladesh are in group D alongside cricket South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and Nepal. With the tournament’s opening clash against Sri Lanka on June 7 in Dallas, the Bengal Tigers are leaving no stone unturned in their preparation.

Following their clash against Sri Lanka, Bangladesh will face the daunting task of taking on South Africa on June 10 in New York, before locking horns with the Netherlands on June 13 in St. Vincent. Their final league-stage match will be against Nepal on June 16, also in St. Vincent.

Also read: Taskin Ahmed not focused on fan talk, sets sights on T20 World Cup

Bangladesh Player List for T20 World Cup 2024:

Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Taskin Ahmed (vc), Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Tanvir Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan

Reserves: Hasan Mahmud, Afif Hossain

Player Role
Najmul Hossain Shanto (C) Batter
Litton Das Batter
Tanzid Hasan Batter
Soumya Sarkar All-rounder
Shakib Al Hasan All-rounder
Towhid Hridoy Batter
Mahmudullah All-rounder
Jaker Ali Batter
Tanvir Islam Bowler
Mahedi Hasan All-rounder
Rishad Hossain Bowler
Mustafizur Rahman Bowler
Shoriful Islam Bowler
Tanzim Hasan Bowler
Taskin Ahmed Bowler

More in Latest News

‘We must have six to eight retentions’ – Harsha Bhogle agrees with Venky Mysore’s opinion on IPL retention

Harsha Bhogle and Venky Mysore. (Source – Twitter/X) The 17th edition of...

May 29: Cricket Social Media Trends – Trending tweets, memes, news highlights, and more

Hardik Pandya. (Photo Source: X(Twitter) Today on social media, several...

Pakistan’s 2009 T20 World Cup Winners: Where are they now?

Pakistan (Champions T20 World Cup 2009). (Source – Twitter/X) In 2009,...