Skip to main content

Exclusive News

OTD| Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings in 2019 to lift their 4th IPL title

Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings in 2019 to lift their 4th IPL title

In this article, we will discuss how the Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings in 2019 to lift their 4th IPL title. The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 final was played on 12th May 2019 between Mumbai Indians and defending champions Chennai Super Kings at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium at Hyderabad. Going into the match Mumbai Indians led by Rohit Sharma won the toss the chose to bat first. Chennai Super Kings got an earlier breakthrough of Mumbai Indians on 45 runs as Quinton de Cock got on out on 25 runs as MS Dhoni caught the ball bowled by Shardul Thakur. 

However, Mumbai Indians managed to post a total of 149 runs for Chennai Super Kings. Going for chase Chennai Super Kings lost an early wicket as Faf du Plessis was dismissed by Hardik Pandya on 26 runs. While Chennai Super Kings lost two back-to-back wickets as Suresh Rania and Ambati Rayudu were dismissed in just a two-run gap. Even though wickets came on falling for Chennai Super Kings Shane Watson stood strong and hold the other end. 

However, Shane Watson got a little support from Dwayne Bravo as they put on a partnership of 51 runs. But Dwayne Bravo who was batting on 15 runs was dismissed by Jasprit Bumrah. When three runs were needed to win for CSK, MI got the wicket of Shane Watson as he was run out by Hardik Pandya. He scored 80 runs before getting out which helped Chennai Super Kings to get near the target. 

When only one run was needed to win for CSK, Lasith Malinga bowled a yorker and trapped Shardul Thakur in front of the stumps as he was given LBW by the umpire. As a result, Mumbai Indians won the match by 1 run. Jasprit Bumrah was awarded Player of the Match for his brilliant spell as he took two wickets and gave 14 runs. This win marks Mumbai Indians winning the fourth IPL title and making them the first team in IPL to win four IPL trophies.

More in Exclusive News

OTD | GT won the IPL title in their inaugural season on May 29, 2022

On this day, back in 2022, the Gujarat Titans won the IPL title in their...

Top 5 star players to miss out T20 World Cup 2024

All the cricketing teams have set their eyes on winning the 2024 T20 World Cup...

OTD | RCB were defeated by SRH in IPL 2016 final on May 29

On this day, back in 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Royal Challengers...

OTD | Nat Thomson, the first man to be dismissed in a Test match, was born in 1839

The history of cricket is filled with some interesting facts and anecdotes...