Cricket Article

Cricket Highlights, 20 Aug: ZIM vs IND (2nd ODI)

ZIM vs IND (2nd ODI) Highlights

ZIM vs IND (2nd ODI) – Highlights

Visiting India has won the three-match ODI series against hosts Zimbabwe by 2-0 with one game in hand. The Men in Blues picked up a 5-wicket win in the second ODI on Saturday (August 20). Chasing the target of 162 runs given by the hosts, KL Rahul’s team reached the port of victory in 25.4 overs.

Coming down to bat after losing the toss, Zimbabwean openers Takudzwanashe Kaitano and Innocent Kaia started cautiously. They scored only 12 runs in the first 7 overs. But that careful batting did not help much. Mohammed Siraj struck the first blow, and Kaitano, who scored 7 runs off 32 balls, was caught by Sanju Samson behind the wicket.

Then another opener Kaia fell victim to Shardul Thakur, he scored 16 runs off 27 balls. In that over, Shardul sent Zimbabwe captain Regis Chakabva back to the dressing room. When Prasidh Krishna came in and dismissed Wesley Madhevere, Zimbabwe lost their fourth wicket scoring 31 runs in 12.4 overs. The hosts lost 4 wickets for 31 runs in 10.1 overs in the first ODI.

Sean Williams Zimbabwe tried to rebuild the innings then. After 41 runs with Sikandar Raza, he made a partnership of 33 runs with Ryan Burl. Suffering from spin, Raza returned to the pavilion in the delivery of Kuldeep Yadav, Ishan Kishan grabbed the catch.

Then Williams got caught while trying to slog a length delivery off Deepak Hooda, he scored 42 runs off 42 balls before getting dismissed. Burl made the next attempt, but no one could accompany him. Shardul bowled Luke Jongwe and Axar Patel bowled out Brad Evans. Zimbabwe lost the last 2 wickets in runout and lost the last 4 wickets for 32 runs. Burl remained unbeaten on 39 off 47 balls.

In the end, the visitors stopped the hosts’ innings at 161 runs in 38.1 overs. Shardul Thakur took the maximum number of 3 wickets for India.

In the previous match, Zimbabwe could not break India’s opening pair. However, this time India captain KL Rahul, who came to open the innings with Shikhar Dhawan in the run chase, returned to the dressing room in the second over. He was LBW by Victor Nyauchi, and the review did not work either.

Dhawan-Gill’s unbroken pair led India to victory in the first match, but in this match, they could add 42 runs for the second wicket, and they took only 29 balls to do that. The aggressive batting of that time indicated that team India decided not to slow down even after losing wickets at the beginning. However, the pair broke when Dhawan returned to the pavilion with a catch off Tanaka Chivanga’s short ball, he scored 33 runs off 21 balls.

Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill combined for 36 runs from 31 balls, although mainly Gill scored the runs. Ishan (6) returned to the pavilion after being bowled by Luke Jongwe. And while slashing Jongwe’s ball, Gill got back with a catch at third man scoring 33 runs. In the 14th over, India was 97 for 4.

Despite losing 2 wickets quickly, India’s run rate did not decrease. Sanju Samson then added 56 runs off 58 balls with Hooda. Hooda scored 25 runs off 36 balls before being bowled by Raza’s full-length ball. Samson, unbeaten on 43 off 39 balls, completed the victory with Axar Patel. He confirmed the victory by hitting Kaia for a six.

Sanju Samson was adjudged player of the match after playing a brave innings. The pair will face each other tomorrow in the final and regulation match of the series.

ZIM vs IND Scoreboard

Zimbabwe – 161/10 (38.1)

India – 167/5 (25.4)

Result – India won by 5 wickets

Player of the match – Sanju Samson

ZIM vs IND (2nd ODI) Highlights - 2

ZIM vs IND Playing XIs

ZIM Regis Chakabva (c & wk), Innocent Kaia, Wesley Madhevere, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Sean Williams, Luke Jongwe, Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Brad Evans, Tanaka Chivanga, and Victor Nyauchi.
IND KL Rahul (c), Sanju Samson (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shubman Gill, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj.

More in Cricket Article