Skip to main content

Twitter Reactions

Twitter Reactions: Bowlers hold their nerve in Bengaluru to seal a 4-1 series victory over Australia

Twitter Reactions: Bowlers hold their nerve to seal a 4-1 series victory over Australia

Mukesh-Kumar. (Photo by Pankaj Nangia/Getty Images)

India completed a 4-1 series win over Australia as they beat them by six runs in the fifth and final T20I on Sunday, December 03 at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. After being once again put in to bat first, the Men in Blue posted a fighting total of 160/8 in their allotted 20 overs riding on a half-century from Shreyas Iyer. In reply, Australia were restricted to 154/8 in their 20 overs with McDermott top-scoring with a half-century.

Australia’s chase got off to a brisk start as opener Travis Head played a quick-fire knock of 28 (18). Mukesh Kumar got the first strike for India as he made Josh Phillipe (4 off 4) chop one back onto his stumps. Ravi Bishnoi (2/29, 4 overs) also continued his brilliant form as he got the big wicket of Travis Head and Aaron Hardie to leave Australia on 55/3.

Also Read: Why are Deepak Chahar and Chris Green not playing in IND vs AUS 2023, match 5 between India and Australia?

Ben McDermott was threatening to take the game away from India with his incredible half-century (54 off 36), however, he was removed by Arshdeep Singh in the 15th over. Mukesh Kumar (3/32) gave two consecutive blows to Australia in the form of Matthew Short (16 off 11) and Ben Dwarshuis (0 off 1) in the 17th over to further derail their chase.

In the end, Arshdeep (2/40) did a phenomenal job by defending nine runs in the final over and dismissed Australian captain Matthew Wade (22 off 15) on the third ball to seal an Indian win. Axar Patek was the most economical bowler from India with figures of 1/14 in four overs.

Shreyas Iyer guided India to a respectable total

Earlier in the day, after being put in to bat first, India didn’t get off to a good start as openers Ruturaj Gaikwad (10 off 12) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (21 off 15) were dismissed inside the powerplay. The matters got worse for the hosts as captain Suryakumar Yadav (5 off 7) and Rinku Singh (6 off 8) also departed cheaply leaving India on 55/4 after 9.1 overs.

Also Read: Axar Patel is unlucky in terms of getting opportunities, but he performs whenever he gets one: Abhinav Mukund

A brilliant half-century from Shreyas Iyer (53 off 37) and cameos from Jitesh Sharma (24 off 16) and Axar Patel (31 off 21) helped India reach 160/8 in their 20 overs. Jason Behrendorff (2/38, 4 overs) and Ben Dwarshuis (2/30, 4 overs) picked two wickets each for Australia.

Meanwhile was X was abuzz with reactions on India’s emphatic series win. Here are some of the posts:

More in Twitter Reactions

Twitter Reactions: Rohit Sharma’s timely ton leads India’s Rajkot redemption

India took on England in the third Test of their ongoing five-game series at...

Twitter Reactions: Shubman Gill fails to build on Vizag ton, departs for duck in Rajkot

After scoring an important century in the second innings of the second Test in...

Twitter Reactions: Asalanka – Hasaranga help Sri Lanka go 2-0 up against Afghanistan

Sri Lanka took an unassailable 2-0 lead over Afghanistan in the three-match ODI...

Twitter Reactions: Sunrisers Eastern Cape thump Durban’s Super Giants to clinch back-to-back titles

The summit clash of the SA20 2024 featured a clash between Sunrisers Eastern...