Skip to main content

Three more Sri Lankan cricketers tested positive for Covid-19

Sri Lanka is already on the back foot after losing the first match of the two-match Test series against Australia. In the fight to save the series, Sri Lankan cricketers are being attacked by Covid-19 one by one before the second Test. It seems the Lankans’ back must be stuck in the wall.

Earlier, star all-rounder, Angelo Mathews was attacked by Covid-19 during the first Test. After that, spinner Praveen Jayawickrama became positive for the virus. This time, the big bad news is that three Sri Lankan cricketers have been attacked by virus together. They are Dhananjaya de Silva, Asitha Fernando and Jeffrey Vandersay.

However, there is news of relief for Mathews. This all-rounder is much fit now at the end of scheduled isolation. So, there is a good chance that he will be on the team in the second Test. Meanwhile, Oshada Fernando’s place in the first match as Matthews’ cove-sub is also confirmed. He will play instead of Dhananjaya.

However, Lasith Embuldeniya has already been dropped. So, there are several changes to be made in the Sri Lankan team. Maheesh Theekshana and Dunith Wellalage could make their debut in white. Kasun Rajitha is likely to play as a replacement for Asitha. Besides, Lakshya Munasinghe and Prabath Jayasuriya have also joined the team. It is learned that Lakshan Sandakan can also join the team as a wrist spinner.


More in Cricket Article

Twitter Reactions: Chennai Super Kings clinch record-extending fifth title, get a fairytale ending

Ravindra Jadeja. (Photo Source: Twitter) The 16th edition of the Indian Premier...

Twitter Reactions: Rain Gods play spoilsport as IPL final moves into first-ever reserve day

IPL final Rain After much wait, the IPL 2023 final between Chennai Super Kings...

Twitter Reactions: Mohit Sharma’s spectacular five-for seals Gujarat Titans’ IPL 2023 final spot

Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Titans. (Photo Source: IPL) Gujarat Titans sealed...

Twitter Reactions: Gujarat Titans register highest playoffs score in history following Shubman Gill’s carnage against MI

Shubman Gill and Sai Sudharshan. (Photo Source: BCCI/IPL) Gujarat Titans (GT)...