Skip to main content

Tamim Iqbal’s record of smashing hundred sixes

Tamim Iqbals record of smashing hundred sixes

Tamim Iqbal's record of smashing hundred sixes

Tamim Iqbal made a great start in the first ODI against the West Indies. He batted aggressively in the target of only 150 runs given by the Caribbean. But luck did not help. The Bangladesh captain returned to the dressing room with 33 runs off 25 balls.

Tamim hit a six on the way to play this innings. And that is why this dashing opener has reached a different milestone. Tamim became the first Bangladeshi batsman to hit 100 sixes in an ODI, hitting Anderson’s ball through fine leg.

Although Tamim is the first batsman in world cricket, there are 39 more batsmen who have hit 100 or more sixes in ODIs before Tamim. Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi has hit the most 351 sixes. West Indies batsman Chris Gayle also hit more than 300 sixes.

Mushfiqur Rahim has the greatest number of 85 sixes in ODIs after Tamim among Bangladeshi batsmen. Mahmudullah Riyad (72) and Mashrafe bin Mortuza (62) also hit at least 50 sixes. Besides, Shakib Al Hasan has hit 46 sixes so far.

Like ODIs, in all three formats, Tamim is ahead of everyone else in Bangladesh hitting most sixes. Tamim has a total of 184 sixes in three formats. Riyadh is in the second position with 159 sixes. Besides, Mushfiqur (153), Shakib (109) and Mashrafe (107) have hit 100 sixes in three formats.

More in Cricket Article

Twitter Reactions: Chennai Super Kings clinch record-extending fifth title, get a fairytale ending

Ravindra Jadeja. (Photo Source: Twitter) The 16th edition of the Indian Premier...

Twitter Reactions: Rain Gods play spoilsport as IPL final moves into first-ever reserve day

IPL final Rain After much wait, the IPL 2023 final between Chennai Super Kings...

Twitter Reactions: Mohit Sharma’s spectacular five-for seals Gujarat Titans’ IPL 2023 final spot

Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Titans. (Photo Source: IPL) Gujarat Titans sealed...

Twitter Reactions: Gujarat Titans register highest playoffs score in history following Shubman Gill’s carnage against MI

Shubman Gill and Sai Sudharshan. (Photo Source: BCCI/IPL) Gujarat Titans (GT)...