Skip to main content

Match Highlights

Cricket Highlights, 20 Nov: NZ vs IND (2nd T20I)

ক্রিকেট হাইলাইটস, ২০ নভেম্বর: নিউজিল্যান্ড বনাম ভারত (২য় টি২০)

NZ vs IND (2nd T20I) – Highlights

India and New Zealand met in the 2nd T20I of the three-match series at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand on Sunday. Batting first in the rain-soaked match, India set a huge target with Suryakumar Yadav’s century. But chasing that target, New Zealand folded before the allotted 20 overs were over. As a result, they left with a loss. On the other hand, after the first match was abandoned due to rain, India took a step towards winning the series by winning the second match. Besides, Suryakumar Yadav won the Man of the Match title by batting brilliantly for them.  

40 hat-tricks and 104 centuries in international T20 have been recorded until now. So the 41st hat trick and 105th century are something special. This is the first international T20 match with a hat-trick and century in the same match, that too in the same innings. Suryakumar Yadav scored a century and Tim Southee took a hat-trick in the first innings of the second T20I between New Zealand and India.

In this exciting match, New Zealand won the toss and chose to bowl first and sent off the India to bat. Batting first, India scored 36 runs in the opening pair of Ishan Kishan and Rishabh Pant. Pant scored only 6 runs from 13 balls. Kishan scored 36 runs off 31 balls. He also hit 5 fours and 1 six. After that, it was all Suryakumar show in India’s innings. With Rohit Sharma-Kohli rested for this series, the spotlight was all on him. And the stage was set to showcase his great batting style. So he took the second century of his career in just 49 balls. Suryakumar contributed 111 runs out of 191 runs of India’s innings. The rest scored 80 runs together.

In the end, Surya remained unbeaten scoring 111 runs off 51 balls. He played this innings with 11 fours and 7 sixes. Besides, Shreyas Iyer scored 13 runs, Hardik Pandya scored 13 runs, Deepak Hooda 0, Washington Sundar 0, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar scored 1 run. In the end, they scored 191 runs with 11 runs extra.

After the century, it was Tim Southee’s hat trick. Coming to bowl in the 20th over, Southee returned Hardik Pandya with the third ball. At the very next ball, he sent Deepak Hooda to the dressing room. Washington Sundar was caught out on the fifth ball of the over. Besides, Lockie Ferguson took 2 wickets for New Zealand and Ish Sodhi took 1 wicket.

In reply, Bhuvneshwar Kumar sent back Finn Allen on the second ball of the innings. After that, New Zealand’s innings could not stand straight. Captain Kane Williamson played the team’s highest innings of 61 runs off 52 balls. Besides, Devon Conway scored 25 runs. Three of the Kiwis’ batsmen returned before opening the run-book. New Zealand was all bowled out for just 126 runs in 18.5 overs. India won the match by a huge margin of 65 runs. 

After dropping the first of the 3-match series, India won this match and took a 1-0 lead. The last match of the series is therefore now a series-saving match for New Zealand.

For India, Deepak Hooda took 4 wickets with just 10 runs in 2.4 overs. Besides, Yuzvendra Chahal and Mohammad Siraj took 2 wickets each. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Washington Sundar took 1 wicket each.

NZ vs IND Scoreboard

New Zealand126/10 (18.5) 

India191/6 (20.0)

Result – India won by 65 runs 

Player of the match – Suryakumar Yadav 

Cricket Highlights, 20 Nov: NZ vs IND (2nd T20I)

NZ vs IND Playing XIs

NZ Kane Williamson (c), Devon Conway (wk), Glenn Phillips, Finn Allen, James Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson
IND Hardik Pandya (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

More in Cricket Article

BPL is very competitive: Shoaib Malik

As BPL, Big Bash, and UAE leagues are happening around the same time, there is...

Pollard in devastating form in ILT

The International T20 League (ILT) is underway in the United Arab Emirates....

What do the selectors think about Mashrafe?

Former Bangladesh cricket captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza retired from T20 6 years...

Bangladesh’s Swarna in the best XI of the World Cup

The ICC U-19 T20 World Cup has been held with women for the first time. India...