Skip to main content

Match Highlights

Cricket Highlights, 20 July: IRE vs NZ (2nd T20I)



IRE vs NZ (2nd T20I) – Highlights

Ireland and New Zealand met in the second of the three-match T20I series at the Civil Service Cricket Club, Belfast on Wednesday. Although they struggled in the ODI series but in the T20, Ireland did not even touch New Zealand’s total. After the first T20, the Kiwis won the second one too with ease. Although New Zealand set a low target, the Irish left the field before 100 runs.

Mitchell Santner’s team defeated Ireland by a huge margin of 88 runs in the second T20 of the series. The visiting team has secured victory in the three-match series with one match remaining.

Ireland won the toss and sent off New Zealand to bat. Dane Cleaver, who came down to play only the second T20 of his career, scored 78 runs with 5 boundaries and 4 sixes in 55 balls and gave New Zealand a big collection of 179 runs for 4 wickets and remained unbeaten.

Besides, opener Finn Allen scored 35 runs off 20 balls. His innings of 35 runs were made with 4 fours and 2 sixes. He was caught out by Joshua Little and left the field. Martin Guptill scored 11 runs off 17 balls. He was caught out by Craig Young and returned to the dressing room.

Glenn Phillips played an innings of 23 runs off 16 balls. He hit 2 fours and 1 six in his innings. He was bowled out by Craig Young and left the field. Daryl Mitchell scored 14 runs off 10 balls with the help of three fours. Joshua Little caught him out and sent him back to the dressing room. Besides, Neesham remained unbeaten with 1 run from 2 balls because the specified 20 overs of the game had ended. New Zealand set a target of 179 runs with 17 runs extra.

For Ireland, Craig Young took 2 wickets for 34 runs in 4 overs and Joshua Little took 2 wickets for 31 runs in 4 overs.

In reply, Ireland were bowled out for just 91 runs in 13.5 overs by Duffy-Sodhi. First, Paul Sterling was caught out after scoring 21 runs off 15 balls and left the field. He hit 3 fours and 1 six.

Then Gareth Delany was out with a golden duck. Harry Tector left the field with 2 runs off 3 balls. Captain Andrew Balbirnie scored 10 runs off 11 balls with 1 four. Lorcan Tucker scored 2 runs from 7 balls. Once again, George Dockrell of the Irish scored a golden duck. Curtis Campher got out for the 7th wicket. He scored 14 runs off 14 balls and hit 2 fours.

The team lost 7 wickets for 54 runs and would have fallen into a bigger shame if Mark Adair did not come down to number eight with 27 off 22 balls. His innings of 27 runs were studded with 4 fours and 1 six. Then Michael Bracewell took the last 3 wickets with 5 balls in the 14th over.

Barry McCarthy scored 11 runs off 8 balls, including 2 fours. The third golden duck was made by Craig Young for the Irish and Joshua Little remained unbeaten at 0 runs. The Irish lost the series by 88 runs with 4 extra runs.

Michael Bracewell and Ish Sodhi took 3 wickets each for New Zealand. Besides, Jacob Duffy took 2 wickets and Lockie Ferguson took 1 wicket.

IRE vs NZ Scoreboard

Ireland – 91/10 (13.5)

New Zealand179/4 (20.0)

Result – New Zealand won by 88 runs

Player of the match – Dane Cleaver


IRE vs NZ Playing XIs

IRE Andrew Balbirnie (c), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Gareth Delany, Paul Stirling, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Mark Adair, George Dockrell, Craig Young, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little
NZ Mitchell Santner (c), Dane Cleaver (wk), Finn Allen, Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, James Neesham, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi, Jacob Duffy

More in Cricket Article

Cricket Free Tips | IND vs SA, 2022: 2nd T20I

IND vs SA Match Details Match: India vs South Africa, 2nd T20I | South Africa...

Babar’s new milestone in T20

Babar Azam was not in the right rhythm in the last Asia Cup. The Pakistan...

Nigars start the fight to retain the title at home

The Women’s Asia Cup starts on October 1. T20 World Cup Qualifiers...

Mustafiz in the list of best slower bowlers

Mustafizur Rahman has spread light with the ball since his arrival in...